Students Honored for Academic Achievements

Wednesday, May 16, 2018
View of Hatfield Hall stage with Rose-Hulman logo and "honors and awards 2018"

Students honored for having the top grade point averages, with the most graded course hours, in their respective classes were (from left) Alex Obatake, Paul N. Bogart Prize; Zhou Zhou, Carl Wischmeyer Award; and Jiaxuan Chen, Heminway Bronze Prize.

Nearly 75 students were honored for their distinguished scholastic achievements, academic extracurricular activities and showing promise in their engineering and science career fields during the 2018 Honors & Awards Ceremony.

Awarded medals for having the top grade point averages following the 2016-17 academic year, based on the highest number of graded course hours on campus, were computer science and computer engineering student Zhou Zhou, the Carl Wishmeyer Award as top junior; biomedical engineering student Alex Obatake, the Paul N. Bogart Prize as the top sophomore; and electrical engineering student Jiaxuan Chen, the Heminway Bronze Prize as top first-year student.

Juniors named Carl Wischmeyer Scholars were Taylor Jenkins, David Mehl and George Rung.

Sophomores honored as Paul N. Bogart Scholars were Evan Bauer, Logan Caldwell, Rohit Chandra, Connor Claussen, Leia Edmondson, Casey Garner, Kayla Gerken, Joshua Heidecker, Carter Hounshell, Lewis Kelley, Aaron Kulinowski, Alexander Lacrampe, Benjamin Linxwiler, Bailey MacInnis, Ian Pottebaum and Benjamin Strate.

Receiving Heminway Scholar awards were first-year students Luke Beeman, Kathryn Blessinger, Caleb Donoho, Kevin Ferguson, Shixian Geng, Gabrielle Gilbertson, Brock Grinstead, Rias Hilliard, Gavin La Rue, Jacquelyn Miller, Gabriel Paree-Huff and Connor Ray.

Outstanding graduate thesis and project awards were presented to optical engineering student Tahereh Naderishahab, for her thesis on “Nanoscale Tilt Measurement Using a Cyclic Interferometer with Phase Stepping and Multiple Reflections,” and engineering management student Tyler Miller, for his project on “Developing and Validating a New Product for Gripping and Pulling Cable.”

Students receiving academic department honors were:

Biology and Biomedical Engineering

John M. Beals Outstanding Graduating Biology Student Award: Joseph Lee

Samuel F. Hulbert Outstanding Graduating Biomedical Engineering Student Award: Gabriele Razma

Chemical Engineering

Eli Lilly and Company Clinton Laboratories Award (outstanding junior): Aaron Kulinowski

Archer Daniels Midland Outstanding Graduating Chemical Engineering Student Award: Wesley Umbower

Sam C. Hite Award (graduating senior with greatest promise for career success): Lucas Huston

Chemistry and Biochemistry

William Albert Noyes, Sr. Award in Chemistry: Emma Ross and Connor Holthouse

Civil and Environmental Engineering

American Society of Civil Engineers Alumni Award (outstanding graduating chapter member): Isabella Marzari

Morris L. Cleverley Commendable Graduating Senior Award: J.D. Portz

Shelton Hannig Outstanding Graduating Senior Award: Carolyn Donohoe

Computer Science and Software Engineering

Pearson Education Outstanding Graduating Senior: J. Coleman Gibson and Qinmao (Fred) Zhang

Frank Young Outstanding Service Award: Vibha Alangar

Frank Young Outstanding Scholarship Award: Lewis Kelley and David Lam

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Outstanding Electrical Engineering Graduating Senior: Charlotte Yoder

Outstanding Computer Engineering Graduating Senior: Sabeeh Khan

Clarence C. Knipmeyer Award (top junior academic scholar): David Mehl

IEEE Outstanding Student Award: Alvina Lee and Nicholas Kiesel

Humanities and Social Sciences

Outstanding Senior in Economics Award: Christopher Knight


Henry Turner Ebby Award (Applications of Mathematics): Casey Garner

Henry Turner Ebby Award (Theoretical Mathematics): Bochuan Lyu

Theodore Paine Palmer Award (top first-year mathematics students): Pierce Ferner, Aaron Glave and Kaylee Pate

Mechanical Engineering

The Cummins Inc. Outstanding Graduating Senior Award: Caroline Johnson

Edward A. MacLean Top Mechanics Student Award: Michel Farhat

Military Science

Captain “Sarge” Kearns Outstanding Graduating Army ROTC Cadet Award:  Jared Falk

Physics and Optical Engineering

Jean M. Bennett Outstanding Graduating Optics Student Award: James Beil

John W. Rhee Memorial Outstanding Graduating Physics Senior Award: Dylan Linville

Perry Family Astronomy Award (significant astronomy contributions): Natalie Nuessle

Outstanding Graduating Engineering Physics Senior Award: Rachel Broughton


CoSIDA Academic All-Americans: Bailey MacInnis (Volleyball), Matthew Murray (Football), Gabrielle Razma (Volleyball), Alec Thompson (Football) and Garrett Wight (Football)

See photos of all winners from the Honors & Awards Ceremony.





Launch Root Quad