ME Department Recognizes Students for Many Contributions

Monday, May 22, 2023
A group of students and faculty pose for a photo.

Students from first-year through seniors were recognized for enriching the diverse culture with the Mechanical Engineering Department through their academic achievements, campus involvement and department leadership.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering recognized students for their academic achievements, along with their involvement on competition teams, campus leadership, athletics, and enhancing the rich and diverse culture within the department during the 2022-23 school year.

The following awards were presented at the department’s Honors & Award Ceremony:

Senior Leadership Award – Greg Ballen
Ballen has shared his academic success with countless others as a tutor within the department, while being a senior representative on the Mechanical Engineering Student Advisory Board (SAB). He also is treasurer of the Rose Climbing Club and a student leader in the Residence Hall Association.

Most Outstanding First-Year Student -- Will Geoghegan
Geoghegan has made a positive impression on the department faculty as a first year Noblitt Scholar on campus. Besides being an exceptional student, he also is a member of the student chapter of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and actively participates in the Design, Build, Fly and Rocketry Club competition teams. He also finds time to compete on the varsity cross country and indoor track teams.

Most Outstanding Sophomore Student – Emily Lopane
Lopane has been involved with the Robotics Teams and served as a FIRST Robotics mentor, while also being a co-chair in her second year on the ME SAB. She also is the American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Robert Steinhauser Most Outstanding Junior Student -- Ayden Ayers and Sam Betts
Ayres has completed his first year on the department’s SAB, while also being involved in the Lilly Scholars Network, Rose Innovative Student Entrepreneurs organization and varsity football team.

Betts, a Noblitt Scholar, has been a leader of the Rose Rocketry Club, Design Build Fly competition team and is helping design a cube satellite project on campus.

Cummins Engine Most Outstanding Senior Student – Ryan Foster
Foster was one of the inaugural members of the Mechanical Engineering Student Advisory Board, helping connect students when it was a challenge due to COVID-19 pandemic health and safety restrictions. He also has been president and vice president of the ASME chapter, and member of the Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society and Residence Hall Association, while competes on the cross country and track athletic teams.

Darrell Gibson Scholarship
Alex Chen and Bryce Kiesel

John D. Winters Scholarship
Gabriel Adams, Anders Caldwell, Paul Cleary, Timothy Johnson, David Kanowitz, Jack Martin, Cesar Osorino, and Spencer Socoloski