Chemical Engineering Names Spring 2020-21 Noel E. Moore Achievement Award Recipients

Monday, February 15, 2021
Christian Schneider, Madison R. Wendelin, Keegan R. Parkhurst

The Department of Chemical Engineering recognizes the good attitudes that these students show toward learning and congratulates Christian Schneider, Madison Wendelin, and Keegan Parkhurst for being great role models.

The Department of Chemical Engineering has announced the winners of the Noel E. Moore Achievement Award for spring quarter 2020-21.

The winners are sophomore Christian Schneider, junior Madison R. Wendelin, and senior Keegan R. Parkhurst.

Each quarter, the department recognizes academic excellence on the part of our students. The awards are named in memory of Professor Noel E. Moore, an outstanding educator and faculty leader on campus for 30 years. Moore served for a decade as head of the Department of Chemical Engineering, was an early leader of Operation Catapult, and was a key advocate for making the institute co-educational. He was named an emeritus faculty member after his retirement in 1998. He passed away in 2018.


Christian Schneider (Sophomore)

Christian Schneider is recognized for his work ethic and positive attitude toward learning, Dr. Adam Nolte, head of the Department of Chemical Engineering, says that professors note that Christian is always very engaged during lectures and eagerly contributes to class discussions. "Christian continually strives for improvement and he will not give up on tackling new concepts until he truly understands them," Nolte says. "The Chemical Engineering Department is proud to award the spring Noel Moore Award to Christian Schneider. Congratulations, Christian!"

Madison R. Wendelin (Junior)

Madison Wendelin is recognized for her positive attitude and work ethic. She participates whole-heartedly during lectures and is not afraid to ask questions or work extra hard until she understands a concept. "When she is part of a team, Madison is full of encouragement and positive energy if something isn’t going quite as planned," Nolte says. "She is polite, friendly, and a joy to be around. The chemical engineering department is happy to give this quarter’s Noel Moore Award to Madison Wendelin. Congratulations, Madison!"

Keegan R. Parkhurst (Senior)

Keegan Parkhurst is being recognized for his enthusiasm in his coursework and contributions to the Rose-Hulman community. Keegan shows deep curiosity about course topics, often delving into levels of detail beyond what is expected and participating in research projects.
"Keegan is always a positive presence in the classroom," Nolte says. "He contributes to campus through his involvement in Alpha Chi Sigma and Intervarsity. The Chemical Engineering Department is proud to award the spring Noel Moore Award to Keegan Parkhurst. Congratulations, Keegan!"