CSSE232 : Computer Architecture I

1: Mon Nov 26

  • Introduction
    • Read Ch 1 (esp. 1.1–1.3, 1.10)
  • Course Overview
    • Read B.2, B.3 (decoder/multiplexor) ; 2.4; 3.1-3.2
    • Practice B.11; 2.8
  • Lab0 Course tools (due Wed Nov 28)
  • HW1 (due Wed Nov 28)

2: Tue Nov 27

  • MIPS green sheet
  • Intro to MIPS assembly
    • Read 2.1–2.3
    • Practice 2.1–2.6; 2.9–2.10
  • Representing instructions
    • Read 2.4–2.5
    • Practice 2.12; 2.14–2.18
  • HW2 (due Thu Nov 29)

3: Wed Nov 28


4: Thu Nov 29

  • Logical operations
    • Read 2.6
    • Practice 2.19–20,22
  • Decision instructions
    • Read 2.7
    • Practice 2.23–24; 2.26; 2.29–30
  • HW4 (due Mon Dec 03)
  • Due: * HW2

5: Fri Nov 30

  • Lab2 (due Tue Dec 04)
  • HW5 (due Tue Dec 04)
  • Due: * Lab1


6: Mon Dec 03


7: Tue Dec 04

  • Procedures
    • Read 2.8; A.6
    • Practice 2.31; 2.33-34; 2.36
  • HW7 (due Thu Dec 06)
  • Due: * Lab2
  • Due: * HW5

8: Wed Dec 05


9: Thu Dec 06

  • More procedures
    • Read 2.13
    • Practice 2.31; 2.33-34; 2.36
  • HW9 (due Mon Dec 10)
  • Due: * HW7

10: Fri Dec 07



11: Mon Dec 10

  • Addressing modes
    • Read 2.10
    • Practice 2.39–42
  • HW11 (due Wed Dec 12)
  • Due: * HW9

12: Tue Dec 11

  • Other architectures
    • Read 2.16–17
    • Section 2 design 1 2 3a 3b 4
    • Section 3 design 1 2 3 4
  • HW12 (due Thu Dec 13)
  • Due: * Lab4

13: Wed Dec 12

  • Performance review continued
  • Exceptions
    • Read A.7–8
    • Practice A.3–5
  • I/O
    • Read 2.9
    • Practice 2.38
  • Lab5 (due Wed Dec 19)
  • HW13 (due Fri Dec 14)
  • Due: * HW11

14: Thu Dec 13


15: Fri Dec 14

  • Running a program
    • Read 2.12,14,15; A.1–5
  • M0 (due Tue Dec 18)
  • Due: * HW13


16: Mon Dec 17

  • Building a datapath
    • Read 4.1–3
    • Practice 4.1–4

17: Tue Dec 18


18: Wed Dec 19

  • Exam 1
  • Due: * Lab5

19: Thu Dec 20

  • A simple implementation scheme
  • Read 4.4
  • Practice 4.6–7
  • Single cycle datapath and control

20: Fri Dec 21



21: Mon Jan 07


22: Tue Jan 08

  • Review exam
  • HW22 (due Fri Jan 11)

23: Wed Jan 09

  • More multicycle details
  • Pipelined datapath
    • Read 4.5–4.6
    • Practice 4.8
  • HW23 (also called HW27) (due Mon Jan 14)
  • Pipelined datapath and control
    • Read 4.6
    • Practice 4.9

24: Thu Jan 10

  • Group meetings
  • M2 (due Wed Jan 16)
  • Due: * M1

25: Fri Jan 11

  • Group meetings
  • Due: * HW22


26: Mon Jan 14

  • Xilinx survival guide
  • Mux files
  • HW28 (due Fri Jan 18)
  • Lab6 (due Fri Jan 25)
  • Lab7 (due Fri Jan 25)
  • Lab8 (due Fri Jan 25)
  • Due: * HW23 (also called HW27)

27: Tue Jan 15

  • Data and control hazards
    • Read 4.7–4.8
    • Practice 4.10; 4.12–14

28: Wed Jan 16

  • More hazards
  • Adding pipelined instructions
  • Pipelined exceptions
    • Read 4.9
    • Practice 4.17
  • Multicycle exceptions
  • HW30 (due Tue Jan 22)
  • M3 (due Wed Jan 23)
  • Due: * M2

29: Thu Jan 17

  • Group meetings

30: Fri Jan 18

  • Group meetings
  • Due: * HW28


31: Mon Jan 21

  • Project time

32: Tue Jan 22

  • Project time
  • Due: * HW30

33: Wed Jan 23

  • Project time
  • Due: * M3

34: Thu Jan 24

  • Group meetings
  • M4 (due Wed Jan 30)

35: Fri Jan 25



36: Mon Jan 28

  • Project time

37: Tue Jan 29


38: Wed Jan 30

  • Exam 2
  • Due: * M4

39: Thu Jan 31

  • Group meetings
  • M5 (due Wed Feb 06)

40: Fri Feb 01

  • Group meetings


41: Mon Feb 04

  • Project time

42: Tue Feb 05

  • Project time

43: Wed Feb 06

  • Exam review
  • Wrap up
  • Due: * M5

44: Thu Feb 07

  • Group meetings
  • M6 (due Wed Feb 13)

45: Fri Feb 08

  • Group meetings


46: Mon Feb 11

  • Project time

47: Tue Feb 12

  • Project time

48: Wed Feb 13

  • Project time
  • Due: * M6

49: Thu Feb 14


50: Fri Feb 15

  • Group meetings