CSSE232 : Computer Architecture I

1: Thu Sep 02 1

  • Introduction
    • Read Ch 1 (esp. 1.1-1.3, 1.11)
  • Course Overview
    • Read B.2, B.3 (decoder/multiplexor) ; 2.4; 3.1-3.2
    • Practice B.11; 2.6
  • HW1 (due Mon Sep 06)

2: Fri Sep 03 1

  • MIPS green sheet
  • Intro to MIPS assembly
    • Read 2.1-2.3
    • Practice 2.1-2.4; 2.7-2.8
  • Representing instructions
    • Read 2.4-2.5
    • Practice 2.10; 2.12-2.16
  • HW2 (due Tue Sep 07)

3: Mon Sep 06 1

  • Lab1 (due Wed Sep 08)
    • Skim A.9-A.10
  • Due: * HW1

4: Tue Sep 07 1

  • Logical operations
    • Read 2.6
    • Practice 2.17-18,20
  • Decision instructions
    • Read 2.7
    • Practice 2.21-22; 2.24; 2.27-28
  • HW3 (due Thu Sep 09)
  • Due: * HW2

5: Wed Sep 08 1

  • Lab2 (due Fri Sep 10)
  • HW4 (due Fri Sep 10)
  • Due: * Lab1


6: Thu Sep 09 2

  • Procedures
    • Read 2.8; A.6 (this is an important reading)
    • Practice 2.29-31; 2.33
  • HW5 (due Mon Sep 13)
  • Due: * HW3

7: Fri Sep 10 2

  • More procedures
    • Read 2.13
    • Practice see previous procedures day
  • HW6 (due Tue Sep 14)
  • Due: * Lab2
  • Due: * HW4

8: Mon Sep 13 2


9: Tue Sep 14 2

  • Addressing modes
    • Read 2.10 (Important reading)
    • Practice 2.12; 2.22
  • HW8 (due Thu Sep 16)
  • Due: * HW6

10: Wed Sep 15 2

  • Lab3 (due Fri Sep 17)
  • HW9 (due Fri Sep 17)
  • Due: * HW7


11: Thu Sep 16 3

  • Performance review continued
  • Exceptions
    • Read A.7-8
    • Practice A.3-5
  • HW10 (due Mon Sep 20)
  • Due: * HW8

12: Fri Sep 17 3

  • Other architectures
    • Read 2.16-19
  • HW11 (due Tue Sep 21)
  • Due: * Lab3
  • Due: * HW9

13: Mon Sep 20 3


14: Tue Sep 21 3


15: Wed Sep 22 3

  • Exam 1


16: Thu Sep 23 4

  • Running a program

    • Read 2.12,14,15; A.1-5
  • Due: * CATME Team Survey


17: Fri Sep 24 4

  • Building a datapath
    • Read 4.1-3
    • Practice 4.1-4

18: Mon Sep 27 4


19: Tue Sep 28 4


20: Wed Sep 29 4

  • Exam 1 Redo opportunity
  • Lab4 (due Fri Oct 01)


21: Thu Sep 30 5

  • A simple implementation scheme
  • Read 4.4
  • Practice 4.4-5
  • Single cycle datapath and control
  • HW12 (due Mon Oct 04)

22: Fri Oct 01 5


23: Mon Oct 04 5


24: Tue Oct 05 5

  • More multicycle details
  • I/O
    • Read 2.9
    • Practice 2.38
  • M2 (due Tue Oct 12)
  • Project Worktime
  • Due: * M1

25: Wed Oct 06 5

  • M1 Group meetings


26: Thu Oct 07 6

  • Pipelined datapath and control
    • Read 4.6-4.7
    • Practice 4.19-20
  • HW14 (due Wed Oct 13)
  • Due: * HW13

27: Fri Oct 08 6

  • Data and control hazards
    • Read 4.8-4.9
    • Practice 4.22; 4.26
  • HW15 (due Mon Oct 18)

28: Mon Oct 11 6

  • Project Worktime
  • M3 (due Wed Oct 20)

29: Tue Oct 12 6

  • Group meetings
  • Due: * M2

30: Wed Oct 13 6



Break



31: Mon Oct 18 7


32: Tue Oct 19 7


33: Wed Oct 20 7


34: Thu Oct 21 7


35: Fri Oct 22 7



36: Mon Oct 25 8


37: Tue Oct 26 8


38: Wed Oct 27 8


39: Thu Oct 28 8


40: Fri Oct 29 8



41: Mon Nov 01 9


42: Tue Nov 02 9


43: Wed Nov 03 9


44: Thu Nov 04 9


45: Fri Nov 05 9



46: Mon Nov 08 10


47: Tue Nov 09 10


48: Wed Nov 10 10


49: Thu Nov 11 10


50: Fri Nov 12 10