CSSE232 : Computer Architecture I

1: Thu Mar 11 1 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)

  • Introduction
    • Read Ch 1 (esp. 1.1-1.3, 1.10)
  • Course Overview
    • Read B.2, B.3 (decoder/multiplexor) ; 2.4; 3.1-3.2
    • Practice B.11; 2.8
  • HW1 (due Mon Mar 15)

2: Fri Mar 12 1 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • MIPS green sheet
  • Intro to MIPS assembly
    • Read 2.1-2.3
    • Practice 2.1-2.6; 2.9-2.10
  • Representing instructions
    • Read 2.4-2.5
    • Practice 2.12; 2.14-2.18
  • HW2 (due Tue Mar 16)

3: Mon Mar 15 1 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)

  • Lab1 (due Wed Mar 17)
    • Skim A.9-A.10
  • Due: * HW1

4: Tue Mar 16 1 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • Logical operations
    • Read 2.6
    • Practice 2.19-20,22
  • Decision instructions
    • Read 2.7
    • Practice 2.23-24; 2.26; 2.29-30
  • HW3 (due Thu Mar 18)
  • Due: * HW2

5: Wed Mar 17 1 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)

  • Lab2 (due Fri Mar 19)
  • HW4 (due Fri Mar 19)
  • Due: * Lab1


6: Thu Mar 18 2 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • Procedures
    • Read 2.8; A.6
    • Practice 2.31; 2.33-34; 2.36
  • HW5 (due Mon Mar 22)
  • Due: * HW3

7: Fri Mar 19 2 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • More procedures
    • Read 2.13
    • Practice 2.31; 2.33-34; 2.36
  • HW6 (due Tue Mar 23)
  • Due: * Lab2
  • Due: * HW4

8: Mon Mar 22 2 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


9: Tue Mar 23 2 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • Addressing modes
    • Read 2.10
    • Practice 2.39-42
  • HW8 (due Thu Mar 25)
  • Due: * HW6

10: Wed Mar 24 2 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)

  • Lab3 (due Fri Mar 26)
  • HW9 (due Fri Mar 26)
  • Due: * HW7


11: Thu Mar 25 3 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • Performance review continued
  • Exceptions
    • Read A.7-8
    • Practice A.3-5
  • HW10 (due Mon Mar 29)
  • Due: * HW8

12: Fri Mar 26 3 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)

  • Other architectures
  • HW11 (due Tue Mar 30)
  • Due: * Lab3
  • Due: * HW9

13: Mon Mar 29 3 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


14: Tue Mar 30 3 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


15: Wed Mar 31 3 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)

  • Exam 1


16: Thu Apr 01 4 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • Running a program

    • Read 2.12,14,15; A.1-5
  • Due: * Team Survey


17: Fri Apr 02 4 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • Building a datapath
    • Read 4.1-3
    • Practice 4.1-4

18: Mon Apr 05 4 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


19: Tue Apr 06 4 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


20: Wed Apr 07 4 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)

  • Lab4 (due Fri Apr 09)


21: Thu Apr 08 5 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • A simple implementation scheme
  • Read 4.4
  • Practice 4.6-7
  • Single cycle datapath and control
  • HW12 (due Mon Apr 12)

22: Fri Apr 09 5 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


23: Mon Apr 12 5 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


24: Tue Apr 13 5 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)

  • More multicycle details
  • I/O
    • Read 2.9
    • Practice 2.38
  • M2 (due Thu Apr 22)
  • Project Worktime
  • Due: * M1

25: Mon Apr 19 5 (Check with your instructor for meeting instructions.)



26: Tue Apr 20 6 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


27: Wed Apr 21 6 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


28: Thu Apr 22 6 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)


29: Fri Apr 23 6 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


30: Mon Apr 26 6 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)



31: Tue Apr 27 7 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


32: Wed Apr 28 7 (Recording Panopto Recorded Lesson)


33: Thu Apr 29 7 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)


34: Fri Apr 30 7 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


35: Mon May 03 7 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)



36: Tue May 04 8


37: Wed May 05 8 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


38: Thu May 06 8 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)


39: Fri May 07 8 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


40: Mon May 10 8 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)



41: Tue May 11 9 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


42: Wed May 12 9 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


43: Thu May 13 9 (In Classroom Meeting in Classroom)


44: Fri May 14 9 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


45: Mon May 17 9 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)



46: Tue May 18 10 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


47: Wed May 19 10 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


48: Thu May 20 10 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


49: Fri May 21 10 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)


50: Mon May 24 10 (Teams Synchronous Teams Meeting)