CSSE232 : Computer Architecture I

1: Mon Nov 29 1

  • Introduction
    • Read Ch 1 (esp. 1.1-1.3, 1.11)
  • Course Overview
    • Read B.2, B.3 (decoder/multiplexor) ; 2.4; 3.1-3.2
    • Practice B.11; 2.6
  • HW1 (due Wed Dec 01)

2: Tue Nov 30 1

  • MIPS green sheet
  • Intro to MIPS assembly
    • Read 2.1-2.3
    • Practice 2.1-2.4; 2.7-2.8
  • Representing instructions
    • Read 2.4-2.5
    • Practice 2.10; 2.12-2.16
  • HW2 (due Thu Dec 02)

3: Wed Dec 01 1

  • Logical operations

    • Read 2.6
    • Practice 2.17-18,20
  • Lab1 (due Fri Dec 03)

    • Skim A.9-A.10
  • HW3 (due Fri Dec 03)

  • Due: * HW1


4: Thu Dec 02 1

  • Decision instructions
    • Read 2.7
    • Practice 2.21-22; 2.24; 2.27-28
  • HW4 (due Mon Dec 06)
  • Due: * HW2

5: Fri Dec 03 1

  • Procedures

    • Read 2.8; A.6 (this is an important reading)
    • Practice 2.29-31; 2.33
  • Due to edits in the schedule HW6 is coming before HW5 this quarter -- dont worry about it

    • HW6 (due Tue Dec 07)
  • Due: * Lab1

  • Due: * HW3



6: Mon Dec 06 2

  • Lab2 (due Wed Dec 08)
  • HW5 (due Fri Dec 10)
  • Due: * HW4

7: Tue Dec 07 2

  • More procedures
    • Read 2.13
    • Practice see previous procedures day
  • HW7 (due Thu Dec 09)
  • Due: * HW6

8: Wed Dec 08 2

  • Addressing modes
    • Read 2.10 (Important reading)
    • Practice 2.12; 2.22
  • Lab3 (due Fri Dec 10)
  • HW8 (due Fri Dec 10)
  • Due: * Lab2

9: Thu Dec 09 2


10: Fri Dec 10 2

  • Performance review continued
  • Exceptions
    • Read A.7-8
    • Practice A.3-5
  • HW10 (due Mon Dec 13)
  • Due: * HW5
  • Due: * Lab3
  • Due: * HW8


11: Mon Dec 13 3


12: Tue Dec 14 3

  • Other architectures
    • Read 2.16-19
  • HW11 (due Mon Jan 03)

13: Wed Dec 15 3

  • Exam 1

14: Thu Dec 16 3


15: Fri Dec 17 3

  • Running a program

    • Read 2.12,14,15; A.1-5
  • Due: * CATME Team Survey



Break



16: Mon Jan 03 4


17: Tue Jan 04 4

  • Xilinx survival guide 2

18: Wed Jan 05 4

  • Exam 1 Redo opportunity
  • Lab4 (due Fri Jan 07)

19: Thu Jan 06 4


20: Fri Jan 07 4

  • A simple implementation scheme
  • Read 4.4
  • Practice 4.4-5
  • Single cycle datapath and control
  • HW12 (due Tue Jan 11)
  • Due: * Lab4


21: Mon Jan 10 5


22: Tue Jan 11 5


23: Wed Jan 12 5

  • More multicycle details
  • I/O
    • Read 2.9
    • Practice 2.38
  • M2 (due Wed Jan 19)
  • Project Worktime
  • Due: * M1

24: Thu Jan 13 5

  • M1 Group meetings

25: Fri Jan 14 5

  • M1 Group meetings
  • Due: * HW13


26: Mon Jan 17 6

  • Pipelined datapath and control
    • Read 4.6-4.7
    • Practice 4.19-20
  • HW14 (due Fri Jan 21)

27: Tue Jan 18 6

  • Data and control hazards
    • Read 4.8-4.9
    • Practice 4.22; 4.26
  • HW15 (due Mon Jan 24)

28: Wed Jan 19 6


29: Thu Jan 20 6


30: Fri Jan 21 6



31: Mon Jan 24 7


32: Tue Jan 25 7


33: Wed Jan 26 7


34: Thu Jan 27 7


35: Fri Jan 28 7



36: Mon Jan 31 8


37: Tue Feb 01 8


38: Wed Feb 02 8


39: Thu Feb 03 8


40: Fri Feb 04 8



41: Mon Feb 07 9


42: Tue Feb 08 9


43: Wed Feb 09 9


44: Thu Feb 10 9


45: Fri Feb 11 9



46: Mon Feb 14 10


47: Tue Feb 15 10


48: Wed Feb 16 10


49: Thu Feb 17 10


50: Fri Feb 18 10