CSSE232 : Computer Architecture I

1: Mon Mar 04 1

  • Introduction
    • Read Ch 1 (esp. 1.1-1.3, 1.11)
  • Course Overview
    • Read A.2, A.3 (decoder/multiplexor) ; 2.4; 3.1-3.2
    • Practice A.11; 2.6
  • HW1 review (due Wed Mar 06)
  • Note: HWs and Labs are always due at class time. There is one shared gradescope for all sections, so the due time on gradescope may not reflect the correct time for all sections.

2: Tue Mar 05 1

  • RISC-V green sheet
  • Intro to RISC-V assembly
    • Read 2.1-2.3
    • Practice 2.1-2.4; 2.7-2.8
  • Logical operations
    • Read 2.6
    • Practice 2.17-18,20
  • HW2 compiling c into assembly (due Thu Mar 07)

3: Wed Mar 06 1

  • Representing instructions
    • Read 2.4-2.5
    • Practice 2.10; 2.12-2.16
  • HW3 assembling instructions (due Fri Mar 08)
  • Lab1 (due Fri Mar 08)
  • Due: * HW1

4: Thu Mar 07 1

  • Pseudoinstructions
    • Read 2.12 "Assembler" section
  • HW4 assembling more instructions (due Mon Mar 11)
  • Due: * HW2

5: Fri Mar 08 1

  • Decision instructions
    • Read 2.7
    • Practice 2.21-22; 2.24; 2.27-28
  • HW5 pseudoinstructions (due Tue Mar 12)
  • Due: * HW3
  • Due: * Lab1


6: Mon Mar 11 2


7: Tue Mar 12 2

  • Addressing modes continued
  • HW7 addressing modes (due Thu Mar 14)
  • Due: * HW5

8: Wed Mar 13 2


9: Thu Mar 14 2

  • Procedures
    • Read 2.8; (this is an important reading)
    • Practice 2.29-31; 2.33
  • HW8 procedure calling (due Mon Mar 18)
  • Due: * HW7

10: Fri Mar 15 2

  • More procedures
    • Read 2.13
  • HW9 procedures and loops (due Tue Mar 19)
  • Due: * Lab2


11: Mon Mar 18 3


12: Tue Mar 19 3

  • Continue Lab3
  • Due: * HW9

13: Wed Mar 20 3


14: Thu Mar 21 3

  • Performance
  • HW11 performance (due Mon Mar 25)
  • Due: * CATME Team Survey

15: Fri Mar 22 3

  • I/O
    • Read 2.9
    • Practice 2.38
  • Due: * HW10


16: Mon Mar 25 4


17: Tue Mar 26 4

  • M1 worktime
  • Note: on this and all future 'project work days' you are expected to be in the classroom during our assigned time doing work with your team.

18: Wed Mar 27 4


19: Thu Mar 28 4

  • Building a datapath
    • Read 4.1-3
    • Practice 4.1-4

20: Fri Mar 29 4

  • A simple implementation scheme
    • Read 4.4
    • Practice 4.4-5
  • Single cycle datapath and control
  • HW12 single cycle control (due Thu Apr 04)


21: Mon Apr 01 5

  • Verilog survival guide 1

22: Tue Apr 02 5

  • No class meeting
  • Verilog survival guide 2
  • M2 (due Tue Apr 16)
    • Note: All Milestones are due at 5pm
  • Due: * M1

23: Wed Apr 03 5

  • Exam 1 Redo opportunity
  • Lab4 (due Fri Apr 05)
  • HW13 add single cycle instruction (due Tue Apr 16)

24: Thu Apr 04 5

  • M1 Group meetings
  • Due: * HW12

25: Fri Apr 05 5

  • No Class
  • Due: * Lab4


Break



26: Mon Apr 15 6


27: Tue Apr 16 6

  • Multicycle control
  • M3 (due Tue Apr 23)
    • Note: all milestones are due at 5pm
  • Due: * M2
  • Due: * HW13

28: Wed Apr 17 6

  • More multicycle details
  • Adding multicycle instructions
  • Project Worktime

29: Thu Apr 18 6

  • No class

30: Fri Apr 19 6

  • M2 Group meetings


31: Mon Apr 22 7


32: Tue Apr 23 7

  • M3 worktime
  • HW14 add multicycle instruction (due Fri Apr 26)
  • Due: * M3

33: Wed Apr 24 7

  • Exam 2
  • M4 (due Tue Apr 30)
    • Note: all milestones are due at 5pm

34: Thu Apr 25 7

  • M3 Group meetings
  • Due: * Lab7

35: Fri Apr 26 7

  • M3 Group meetings
  • Due: * HW14


36: Mon Apr 29 8

  • Pipelined datapath and control
    • Read 4.6-4.7
    • Practice 4.19-20

37: Tue Apr 30 8

  • Data and control hazards
    • Read 4.8-4.9
    • Practice 4.22; 4.26
  • HW15 pipelined instructions (due Fri May 03)
  • Due: * M4

38: Wed May 01 8

  • More hazards
  • Project time
  • M5 (due Tue May 07)
    • Note: all milestones are due at 5pm

39: Thu May 02 8

  • M4 Group meetings

40: Fri May 03 8

  • M4 Group meetings
  • Due: * HW15


41: Mon May 06 9

  • Adding pipelined instructions

42: Tue May 07 9


43: Wed May 08 9

  • Exam 3
  • M6 (due Wed May 15)
    • Note: all milestones are due at 5pm

44: Thu May 09 9

  • M5 Group meetings

45: Fri May 10 9

  • M5 Group meetings


46: Mon May 13 10

  • Project time

47: Tue May 14 10

  • Project time

48: Wed May 15 10

  • Exam 3 Redo Opportunity
  • Wrap up (attendance required)
  • Project Worktime
  • Due: * M6

49: Thu May 16 10


50: Fri May 17 10

  • M6 Group meetings