The Forty-second Annual

Rose-Hulman High-school Mathematics Contest


The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Mathematics Contest takes place annually on the second Saturday in November. The forty-second contest took place Saturday, November 10, 2007. Rose-Hulman press release.

This year's top finishers were
1. Terre Haute South Vigo High School 1161
2. Iowa City West 983
3. Park Tudor 922

The 2005 class winners were
Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior
1. Park Tudor 270 Terre Haute South 339 Terre Haute South 312Carmel 329
2. Terre Haute South 239 Carmel 272 Indianapolis North Central 275 Iowa City West 291
3. Castle 193 Iowa City West 259 Indiana Academy 268 Terre Haute South 271

Top scoring individuals were
	Senior                                                       Junior
            NAME                 SCHOOL                             NAME              SCHOOL
 1.	 Nate Rehfuss 89	 Iowa City West		         David Benjamin 100    Harrison   
								 Pardha Ponugoti 100   Terre Haute South	
 2.	 John Zhong 88		 Carmel				 Raj Bhuptani 84       Terre Haute South
 3.	 Xingping Shen 83	 Carmel				 Jessica Fisher 82     Park Tudor
								 Ruofan Xia 82         Carmel
 4.	 E. G. Wright 82         Terre Haute South		 David Yang 80	       Carmel 
         Tyler Zou 82            Carmel
 5.	 Matthew Croop 79	 Indianapolis North Central	 Anton Goupinets 79    Iowa City West
         Chenfei Wang 79	 Carmel 				
 6.	 Gray Thomas 78		 Iowa City West			 Katherine Horn 78     Indianapolis North Central
 7.	 Kevin Kim 76		 Carmel		                 Ryan Clodfelter       Indianapolis North Central
	 Devin Taylor 76	 Castle		 
 8.	 Casey Lecklider         Signature School                Ian Goller            Fishers
                                                                 Yingxue Li            Carmel
 9.	 Jim Caraher           	 Crawfordsville			 Arun Theertam	       Terre Haute South
	 Jong Ho You             Lutheran		   
10.	 Tom Schroeder		 Park Tudor	                 Caroline Huang	       Park Tudor	
								 Thane Somers	       Iowa City West
11.	 Curie Ahn		 Iowa City West	                 Rafael-Joel Lim       Indiana Academy
								 Andy Vissing	       Hamilton Southeastern
								 Amanda Williams       Castle
12.	 Jun Chen                Indiana Academy                 Michelle Haby         Lafayette Jefferson
         Will Zhang              Carmel		 


Congratulations to Matthew Croop, Tom Schroeder, E.G. Wright, and John Zhong who earned individual awards for the fourth time.
	  Sophomore	     		      	                       Freshman
1.      Sachin Shinde 95        Terre Haute South                      Mihika Prabhu 84		   West Lafayette
2. 	Nathan Benjamin 94	Harrison                               Richard Ni 82               Park Tudor
	John Ryan 94		Terre Haute South		       Shi-Ke Xue 82		   Iowa City West
3.	Peter Bittar 84		Terre Haute South		       Soo-Hyun-Yoo 78		   Lafayette Jefferson
	Shawn Qian 84		Carmel
4. 	Lauren Stephens 83	Indianapolis North Central             Matt Kendall 77             Terre Haute South 
5.	Lorelei Coffin 82       Iowa City West			       Jeffrey Shen 76		   Park Tudor
6.	Tyler Chenhall 77	Iowa City West			       Jessica Wright		   Terre Haute South
7. 	Jimmy Sun		Carmel				       Joseph Botros		   Terre Haute South
8. 	Eesha Purohit		Terre Haute South		       Bosi Zhang		   Hamilton Southeastern
9. 	Andrew Huh		Terre Haute South		       Drew Herrmann		   Hamilton Southeastern
10.	Anthony Cai             Carmel				       Sawyer Morgan		   Hamilton Southeastern
   	Kathleen Hu		Fishers	      
	Cezary Wojcik		Signature
11. 	Dongyun Lee		Hamilton Southeastern                  Samuel Clarke               Park Tudor
	Harrison Zhao		Fishers		      
12. 	Leah Dong               Urbana		                       Abby Drumm                  Fishers

Congratulations to the Winners of the Sally Shonk memorial award; Mihika Prabhu, Richard Ni, and Shi-Ke Xue
and to the Mary Rhein memorial award winners; Lauren Stephens and Sachin Shinde

This year there were approximately 450 students from 27 schools registered for the contest. The schools competing this year were:
Carmel, Castle, Champaign Central, Chrisman, Covenant Christian, , Fishers, Hamilton Southeastern, , Indiana Academy, Indianapolis Lutheran, Indianapolis North Central, Iowa City West, Lafayette Jefferson, North Daviess, North Newton, North Vermillion, Northview, Park Tudor, Perry Meridian, Scecina Memorial, Signature, South Vermillion, Terre Haute North, Terre Haute South Vigo High School, Urbana. There were also guest middle school students from Honey Creek, and West Lafayette.

For more information about the contest, please send e-mail to