Winners of the 1999 AAPT Apparatus Contest

Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas, August 4, 1999

Advanced Laboratory / Lecture Demonstration Category

First prize ($1000) P. J. Ouseph, Walking a Charged Pith Ball Perpendicular To an Electric Field

Second prize ($600) Eugene Mosca, Kinetic-Friction Demo

Third prize ($200) Bill Franklin, Fan Cart With Sails for Forward, Reverse, and No Motion

Low-Cost Category (Awards are $100 each)

Bill Franklin, Cheapskate Elastic/Inelastic Collision Demonstrator

Bill Franklin, Rotating Sail Magnus Effect Demonstrator

Vacek Miglus, Low Cost Paramagnetism Apparatus

Damon McCausland, Current-carrying Loop in a Magnetic Field