Evans, Kovach Earn Top Honors at Annual Sports Banquet


PHOTO GALLERY (Photos of all 11 Winners)


evans-blanketTERRE HAUTE, IND. -- The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology athletic department presented Ruel Fox Burns Blankets to seniors Elizabeth Evans (Bicknell, Ind./North Knox) and Kyle Kovach (Munster, Ind./Andrean) to highlight the 2013 Athletic Honors and Awards Banquet on Tuesday night.

The Ruel Fox Burns Blanket, presented to the department's top senior male and female athletes as voted by the coaching staff, has been presented to outstanding Engineer student-athletes since 1968.

Evans compiled the top individual career in the history of Rose-Hulman athletics, including four NCAA Division III National Championships, seven All-American awards, six Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Field Athlete of the Year awards, and four Great Lakes Region Athlete of the Year Honors. Evans also earned first-team Academic All-American honors in 2012 and second-team accolades in 2011. She has been nominated for the NCAA National Woman of the Year Award.

kovach-blanketKovach set career school records for rushing yards in football for 3,631 yards and all-purpose yards with 6,134. He scored 47 touchdowns, including 39 rushing touchdowns, to rank second all-time. He also earned the NCAA Division III statistical national championship for all-purpose yardage, and was named a third-team Associated Press/Sports Illustrated All-American in 2011.

The athletic department also awarded the Rose-Hulman Varsity R Club Outstanding Senior of the Year Award.  The honor recognizes outstanding achievement by one male and one female student-athlete during their senior playing seasons.

Swimmer John Huster (Terre Haute, Ind./North Vigo) was named the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Co-Performer of the Meet in 2013 and earned a trip to the NCAA Division III Nationals. He ended his career with a school record in his final college swim.

On the women's side, volleyball player Anna Lewer (Indianapolis, Ind./Lutheran) was named Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year this fall and became the first player in school history to compile 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs in a career. She also became the first volleyball player to earn Academic All-American honors in school history.

Seniors Erika McGuire (Indianapolis, Ind./Warren Central) and Ethan Post (Rockford, Mich.) earned the John Logan Award for compiling the highest female and male grade-point-average among four-year letter winners.

McGuire earned a 3.91 grade point average, while also receiving a prestigious honor as the 2012 NCAA Division III National Sportsmanship Award Winner.

Post earned a perfect 4.0 grade point average and earned first-team Capital One Academic All-Academic honors in 2012.

The Samuel Hulbert Award, named for the President at Rose-Hulman who retired after 28 years of service in 2004, is presented to the male and female senior athletes who contribute the most in terms of team spirit, sportsmanship and a determination to succeed.

Soccer player Ally Nelson (Mooresville, Ind.) and basketball player Austin Weatherford (Cicero, Ind./Hamilton Heights) were honored for reinforcing winning attitudes and creating a positive atmosphere for their respective teams.

Each student-athlete was honored for both an unselfish and team-oriented attitude, along with their efforts in helping recruit future student-athletes to the college.  Weatherford made an impact on the basketball court with 1,200 points and 311 assists in his career.  Nelson battled through injuries both last year and this year to earn 55 appearances with one goal and one assist. 

Tom Miller received the John Mutchner Award, presented to the gentleman who has unselfishly given his time and support to the athletic department.  Miller has completed over 20 years on the Rose-Hulman staff, and has served as football press box spotter, basketball timeout coordinator, liaison between student affairs and the coaching staff.

The Rosie Award is awarded to the woman who has unselfishly given time and support to the athletic department.  Bretta Schriner joined the athletic family in 2012 as the team’s cheerleading coach. Schriner was honored for strength and determination while improving the quality of the team and the overall cheerleading experience.

Omar Abdel-Rahman received the Jess Lucas Spirit Award, presented annually to an individual or group whose support of the athletic department moves above and beyond the norm. During basketball games, Rahman would duplicate the gestures of the coach on the opposition. Keeping it classy, Rahman would not talk and made sure he stayed off the floor.