The Thirty-first Annual

Rose-Hulman High-school Mathematics Contest

The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Mathematics Contest takes place annually on the second Saturday in November. The thirty-first contest took place Saturday, November 9, 1996.

Congratulations to Terre Haute North Vigo High School, overall champion. This year's top finishers were
1. Terre Haute North Vigo High School 1006
2. Iowa City West High School 990
3. Terre Haute South Vigo High School982

This years class winners were
Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior
1. Iowa City West Park Tudor Iowa City West Terre Haute South
2. Terre Haute North Terre Haute South Center Grove Terre Haute North
3. Terre Haute South Center Grove Terre Haute North Iowa City West

Top scoring individuals were
Senior Junior
1. John Kinnebrew T.H. South 1. Bryce Johnson Center Grove
2. Andy Cahill T.H. North 2. Justin Warren Iowa City West
3. Scott Cunning T.H. North 3. Steven Prothero Terre Haute South
(tie) Christina Watt Jorck Columbus North 4. Dulcinea Boesenberg Center Grove
5. Erin Slattery Columbus North 5. Andy Long Brownsburg
6. Michael Black T.H. North (tie) James Rose Avon
(tie) Carl Horwitz Iowa City West 7. Josh Lucas-Falk Broad Ripple
Rhett Sutphin Iowa City West (tie) Peter Russo Iowa City West
Emily Contreras T.H. South 9. Nathan Froyd Terre Haute North
Todd Williams T.H. South 10. Sylvia Carlisle Iowa City West
11. Ryan Barton T.H. South (tie) Jamelyn Langhammer Indianapolis Lutheran
12. Steve Audretch Columbus North 12. Jonathan Edwards Iowa City West
(tie) Becky Baxter West Vigo (tie) Luke McDonald Terre Haute North
Anne McLaren T.H. North Patrick Morgan South Vermillion

Sophomore Freshman
1. Chris Mihelich Park Tudor 1. Ryan Hamilton Terre Haute South
(tie) Melanie Wood Park Tudor 2. Ethan Kuperman Iowa City West
3. William Ko Terre Haute South 3. Joanne Wen Iowa City West
4. Jeff Felling Terre Haute North 4. Megan Elliot Terre Haute North
5. James Schuster Altamont 5. John McHale Columbus North
6. Bobby Wassel Terre Haute North 6. Jimmy Smith Brownsburg
7. Brent Wiese Iowa City West (tie) Michael Radovanovic Columbus North
8. Yoshi Akimoto Center Grove Benjamin LanghammerIndianapolis Lutheran
(tie) Jeff Wigh Columbus North Carl Lehenbauer Indianapolis Lutheran
10. Jon Glassman Park Tudor Tom Burney Park Tudor
11. Katie Stroud Perry Meridian 11. Lance Alexander Columbus North
12. Beau Rightsell Center Grove 12. Melissa Killion Center Grove
(tie) Jean Broughton Terre Haute North
Jill Kurdys Terre Haute South

This year there were 463 students from 25 schools registered for the contest. The schools competing this year were:
Altamount, Arsenal Tech, Arsenal Tech Math Magnet, Avon, Broad Ripple, Brownsburg, Cathedral, Center Grove, Columbus North, Crawfordsville, Cumberland, Greenfield Central, Iowa City West,Indianapolis Lutheran, North Vermillion, Northview, Northwood, Park Tudor, Perry Meridian, South Vermillian, Terre Haute North, Terre Haute South, Urbana, Vincennes Rivet and West Vigo.

For more information about the contest, please send e-mail to