The Thirty-eighth Annual

Rose-Hulman High-school Mathematics Contest


The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Mathematics Contest takes place annually on the second Saturday in November. The thirty-eighth contest took place Saturday, November 8, 2003. Some pictures are now available.

This year's top finishers were
1. Terre Haute South Vigo High School 1124
2. Park Tudor 957
3. Iowa City West 952

The 2003 class winners were
Freshman Sophomore Junior Senior
1. Terre Haute South 261 Terre Haute South 290 Terre Haute South 293 Terre Haute South 280
2. Iowa City West 237 Carmel 263 Carmel 281 Park Tudor 270
3. Park Tudor 233 Hamilton Southeastern 214 Iowa City West 262 Iowa City West 260

Top scoring individuals were
	Senior                                                  Junior
            NAME                 SCHOOL                             NAME              SCHOOL
1.	Ann Chi 94          Terre Haute South			Scott Pollom 90    Cathedral       
2.	Mark Amos 85        Perry Meridian                      Rosemary Luo 85    Terre Haute South
3.	Andrew Buller 78    Iowa City West                      Ruth Dhanaraj 84   Carmel
4.	Jason Brown 76      Park Tudor                          Ken Hui 78         Park Tudor
        Scott VanDyke 76    Covenant Christian                  Drew Klein 78      Iowa City West
5.	Brandon Lynch 75    Terre Haute South                   Karen Zheng 75     Carmel
        Mike Munson 75      Terre Haute North                 
6.      Sammy Saber	    Terre Haute South                   Nic Hamilton       Terre Haute South
	                                                        Ken Pesyna         Carmel
7.      Luobei Zhu          Carmel                              James Powell       Terre Haute South
                                                                Kurt Qing          Carmel
8.	David Zhuang        Columbus North                      Emily Segar        Iowa City West
9.	Aaron Driver        Lutheran                            Sean Jezewski     Iowa City West
	John Loser	    Park Tudor
10. 	A.J. Goldman        Hamilton Southeastern               Sandeep Gurram    Castle
        Katy Patterson      Castle                 
        Andrew Ringham      Arsenal Technical         
        Kyle Smith          Urbana                                              
11.	Alex Clerc          Columbus North                      Matt Baldwin      Park Tudor
        Sara Gussin         Iowa City West                      Avi Puchalapalli  Terre Haute South
        Luis Mendes         Urbana                              Leah Seigel       Indianapolis North Central
12.     Jeff Swhier         Park Tudor                          Phoebe Cheng      North Central
                                                                Jade Gan          Northview
	                                                        Edward Kim        Carmel
                                                                Karen Nelson      Lutheran
Congratulations to Ann Chi and Luobei Zhu who earned individual awards for the fourth time.
	  Sophomore	     			           Freshman
            NAME              SCHOOL                             NAME                  SCHOOL
1.	 Tiffany Ko 100     Terre Haute South                Yu Chen 82          Terre Haute South
2.	 Charles Tam 88     North Central                    Michael Harris 78   Park Tudor
3.	 Mark Elliot 84     Terre Haute North                Stephanie Choi 75   Iowa City West
         Yizheng He 84      Carmel                            
4.	 Nan Lin            Ben Davis                        Stefan Poikonen     Central Hardin
                                                             Emily Zhou          Terre Haute South
5.       Fan Huang          Urbana                           Ravi Parikh         Park Tudor
	 Gary Wu            Hamilton Southeastern                                                             
6.       Audra White        Terre Haute South                Andy Chen           Carmel                  
7.	 Peter Kim          Carmel                           Nicholas Allendorf  Iowa City West
8.	 Daniel Fox         Terre Haute South                Susan Hu            Terre Haute South
9.	 Kate Goeller       Terre Haute South	             Angela Kuo          Terre Haute North
         Kevin Shiue        Carmel
         Andrew Wang        Iowa City West
10.	 Hansi Zhao         Carmel                           Stephen Wolf        Hamilton Southeastern
11.      Nicholas Lynch     Terre Haute South                Artem Rogachev      Urbana
         Luke Xie           Carmel            
         Justin Yi          Pike
12.	 Christine Aum      Covenant Christian               Elizabeth Otto      Columbus North

This year there were 491 students from 26 schools registered for the contest. The schools competing this year were:
Arsenal Tech, Ben Davis, Broad Ripple, Carmel, Castle, Cathedral, Central Hardin, Columbus North, Covenant Christian, Crawfordsville, Gibson Southern, Hamilton Southeastern, Indianapolis Lutheran, Indianapolis North Central, Iowa City West, North Newton, North Vermillion, Northview, Park Tudor, Perry Meridian, Pike, Plainfield, South Vermillion, Terre Haute North, Terre Haute South, and Urbana.

A summary of the scoring for this year's contest:
                      FR     SO     JR     SR
Number of Students   104    108    140     91 
Top Score             82    100     90     94
Twelfth Place         54     60     63     67
Median                30     35   38.5     51
Mean                31.6   36.8   40.6   46.5
WTHI 10 story about the contest         Terre Haute Tribune-Star story
For more information about the contest, please send e-mail to