Perfect Scores Reign Supreme at Rose-Hulman High School Math Contest

Monday, November 10, 2014
Carmel Winning Team

Repeat School Champions: Carmel High School was the overall school champions at the Rose-Hulman High School Mathematics Competition for the sixth straight year.

A record 21 high school scholars earned perfect scores in this year's Rose-Hulman High School Mathematics Competition on November 8. Carmel High School captured top school honors for the sixth straight year.

Now in its 49th year, the competition has become one of the Midwest's largest academic contests, attracting nearly 500 students from 27 schools in Indiana, Illinois, and Iowa. Students compete for individual, grade, and school honors.

Students had one hour to complete 20 questions covering a wide range of mathematics categories. The contest is unique because it tests the skills of students in all four grade levels. Individual and team honors were presented to freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors.

Carmel took home top school honors after winning the sophomore, junior, and senior class divisions. Terre Haute South was second, Castle placed third, and Indianapolis' Signature finished fourth.

Eight freshmen had perfect 100-point scores: Pranav Krishnamurthy, Junhee Lee, and Jeongwoo Ceo of Iowa City West; Michelle Shen and Allen Zhao of Park Tudor; John Dalloul of Terre Haute South; Jay Maturi of University (Zionsville, Indiana); and Pranav Sriram of Carmel.

Earning perfection among sophomores were Caleb He and Anthony Ji, both from Carmel, while five juniors had 100-point scores: Gabriel Paree-Huff and Daniel Vance, both of Fishers; Tingyue Cui of Terre Haute South; Christina Duffield of University; and Amanda Li of Park Tudor.

Leading the way in the senior class with perfect scores were Kevin Fei, Chrishan Fernando, and Kevin Mi, all from Carmel; Julia Wang of University; Nathan Mytelka of Park Tudor; and Amy Xiong of Iowa City West.

Special book prizes were presented to the top male and female finishers among sophomores and freshmen. The awards were presented in memory of Mary Rhein, a teacher who coordinated the contest in West Chester, Ohio, for several years. The freshman awards were presented in memory of Sally Shonk, a former Vigo County (Indiana) teacher.

The competition was organized by mathematics professors John Rickert and Leanne Holder, with assistance from department secretary Michelle Prather, department chair David Rader, and emeriti mathematics professor Herb Bailey. Faculty members assisting were Timothy All, Nathan Chenette, Diane Evans, Dave Goulet, William Green, Ralph Grimaldi, Mark Inlow, Mark Panaggio, Eric Reyes, Christina Selby, and Wayne Tarrant. Providing helping hands were members of the Pi Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society, Alpha Phi Omega service fraternity, Math Club, and other student volunteers.

Information about this year's contest and results of past events can be obtained at