PH113 - Physics III

Spring Term 2015

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:    Room DL102                       Phone:    872-6025                                 Box:    182

E-Mail:  Prof. Duree

Office Hours:   9:15 AM - 11:00 AM   Th      4:20 PM - 5:15 PM    M T  Th F

Goal: The development of a basic understanding of magnetism, magnetic fields, magnetic force, electromagnetic induction, inductors, AC circuits, electromagnetic radiation, geometrical optics, optical interference, diffraction and relativity.

Text:

University Physics, 13th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2012)

Homework:

In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:
 
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.

Exams:

There will be four examinations (March 23, April 3, May 4, and May 19).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the overall exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you don't do any homework, then it will not be included in your final grade.)
  Exams – 45%   (If you don't do any homework, then the three exams will comprise 65% of your final course grade.)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

Syllabus

 

Labs meet this week

The third series of experiments for the Physics III laboratories entitled "Lenses" (a description of which can be found beginning on page 154 in the lab manual) will be conducted in CL117 this week,

April 27 - May 1, 2015

Please note that this includes the Monday labs!

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

The Mastering Physics Course ID for Section 1 (12:40 PM) is MPDUREE00802 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

The Mastering Physics Course ID for Section 2 (1:35 PM) is MPDUREE45551 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

The PH113 Final Exam Equation Sheet - from last year!

Date Material Assignment
Monday, March 9, 2015 Intro/Chapter 27   Chapter 27A:  Q1, 1, 3, 5, 11
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 Chapter 27   Chapter 27B:  Q5, 14, 15, 22, 29
Thursday, March 12, 2015 Chapter 27   Chapter 27C:  Q6, 33, 36, 39, 41   
Friday, March 13, 2015 Chapter 27   Chapter 27D:  Q12, 44, 46, 47, 78  Extra Credit:  53, 54
Monday, March 16, 2015   L Chapter 28   Chapter 28A:  Q3, 17, 23, 25, 27
Tuesday, March 17, 2015   L Chapter 28   Chapter 28B:  Q13, 28, 30, 31, 36
Thursday, March 19, 2015   L Chapter 28   Chapter 28C:  Q14, 45, 48, 49, 50, 51, 74, 78  Extra Credit: 71, 80 
Friday, March 20, 2015   L Chapter 28   Practice Problems - Set A  (No Homework - In-Class Work )  
Monday, March 23, 2015   L Exam #1  Turn in homework sets 28B, 28C and Practice Problems - Set A 
Tuesday, March 24, 2015   L Chapter 29   Chapter 29A:  Q5, 1, 6, 10, 15
Thursday, March 26, 2015   L Chapter 29   Chapter 29B:  Q3, 17, 21, 27
Friday, March 27, 2015   L Chapter 29   Chapter 29C:  Q1, 18, 19, 23, 29
Monday, March 30, 2015 Chapter 30   Chapter 30A:  Q1, 7, 8, 9, 11
Tuesday, March 31, 2015 Chapter 30   Chapter 30B:  Q7, 19, 23, 25, 67  Extra Credit: 1, 5
Thursday, April 2, 2015 Chapter 30   Practice Problems - Set B  (No Homework - In-Class Work )  
Friday, April 3, 2015 Exam #2   Turn in homework sets 30B, 31A, 31B, and Practice Problems - Set B 
Saturday, April 4, 2015 through

Sunday, April 12, 2015

No Class - Spring Break
Monday, April 13, 2015 Chapter 31   Chapter 31A:  Q3, 1, 3, 6, 9
Tuesday, April 14, 2015   L Chapter 31   Chapter 31B:  Q16, 19, 23, 30,35, 36
Thursday, April 16, 2015   L Chapter 32   Chapter 32A:  Q1, 1, 3, 7, 13
Friday, April 17, 2015   L Chapter 32   Chapter 32B:  Q11, 17, 22, 27, 29, 54
Monday, April 20, 2015   L Chapter 33   Chapter 33A:  Q1, 1, 43, 48, 49
Tuesday, April 21, 2015 Chapter 33   Chapter 33B:  Q4, 16, 17, 22
Thursday, April 23, 2015 Chapter 33   Chapter 33C:  Q16, 27, 29, 31, 34
Friday, April 24, 2015
We will meet in G315!!
Chapter 34   Chapter 34A:  Q3, 1, 4, 8, 12
Monday, April 27, 2015   L Chapter 34   Chapter 34B:  Q6, 15, 19, 22, 25
Tuesday, April 28, 2015   L Chapter 34   Chapter 34C:  Q15, 27, 34, 39
Thursday, April 30, 2015   L Chapter 34   Chapter 34D:  14 a, b (not part c!), 23, 40, 41, 94 b (not part a!)
Friday, May 1, 2015   L Chapter 34  
Monday, May 4, 2015 Exam #3  
Tuesday, May 5, 2015 Chapter 35  
Thursday, May 7, 2015 Chapter 35  
Friday, May 8, 2015 Chapter 35  
Monday, May 11, 2015   L Chapter 36  
Tuesday, May 12, 2015   L Chapter 36  
Thursday, May 14, 2015   L Chapter 37  
Friday, May 15, 2015   L

Chapter 37

 
Monday, May 18, 2015 Chapter 37  
Tuesday, May 19, 2015 Exam #4  
Thursday, May 21, 2015 No Class   Prepare for the Final Exam
Friday, May 22, 2015

No Class

  Prepare for the Final Exam

Modified  April 27, 2015 by Galen C. Duree Jr.