PH113 - Physics III

Spring Term 2016

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:    Room CL105  (The Physics Department Office)       Phone:    872-6025       Box:    182

E-Mail:  Prof. Duree

Office Hours:   9:15 AM - 10:15 AM  M T Th      4:20 PM - 5:15 PM    M T  Th F

Goal: The development of a basic understanding of magnetism, magnetic fields, magnetic force, electromagnetic induction, inductors, AC circuits, electromagnetic radiation, geometrical optics, optical interference, diffraction and relativity.

Text:

Principles and Practice of Physics, Eric Mazur (2016)

Although, if you can find a copy of University Physics, 13th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2012) (the textbook used last year), you might find that a helpful text to have to support you in this class.

Homework:

In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:
 
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due in the green bin (with the label "Dr. Duree's homework" on it) outside the PHOE department office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please include the assignment title ("27A" for example) on each homework set that you turn in!  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.

Exams:

There will be four examinations (March 21, April 1, May 2, and May 17).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the overall exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you don't do any homework, then it will not be included in your final grade.)
  Exams – 45%   (If you don't do any homework, then the three exams will comprise 65% of your final course grade.)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

Syllabus

Labs meet this week

The third lab experiments for the Physics III laboratories, entitled "Lenses", a description of which begins on page 154 in the lab manual, will be conducted in CL117 this week,

April 22 - 28, 2016

 

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

PH113-10: The Mastering Physics Course ID is MPDUREE50092 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

Download a copy of Optical Polarization

Download a copy of Practice Problems - Set C

The PH113 Final Exam Equation Sheet.

Date Material Assignment
Monday, March 7, 2016 Intro/Chapter 27   Chapter 27A:  1, 8, 18 
Tuesday, March 8, 2016 Chapter 27   Chapter 27B:  45, 46, 47, 49, 56  Due on Friday!
Thursday, March 10, 2016  L Chapter 27   No new assignment! 
Friday, March 11, 2016   L Chapter 27   Chapter 27C:  21, 27, 29, 33
          Chapter 28: 25, 31
 
Monday, March 14, 2016   L Chapter 28   Chapter 28A:  7, 8, 68, 69, 87 
Tuesday, March 15, 2016   L Chapter 28   Chapter 28B:  13, 71, 73, 75, 76 Due Monday 
Thursday, March 17, 2016   L Chapter 28   Chapter 28C:  58, 59, 64, 88 Due Monday  
Friday, March 18, 2016   L Chapter 28   Practice Problems - Set A   (No Homework - In-Class Work) 
Monday, March 21, 2016   L Exam #1  Turn in homework sets 28B, 28C, and Practice Problems - Set A
Tuesday, March 22, 2016   L Chapter 29   Chapter 29A Worksheet
Thursday, March 24, 2016   L Chapter 29   Chapter 29B Worksheet 
Friday, March 25, 2016   L Chapter 29   Chapter 29C Worksheet 
Monday, March 28, 2016  L Chapter 30   Chapter 29D Worksheet 
Tuesday, March 29, 2016  L Chapter 30   Chapter 29E Worksheet 
Thursday, March 31, 2016 Chapter 30   Practice Problems - Set B   (No Homework - In-Class Work) 
Friday, April 1, 2016 Exam #2  Turn in homework sets 29D, 29E, and Practice Problems - Set B
Saturday, April 2, 2016 through

Sunday, April 10, 2016

No Class - Spring Break
Monday, April 11, 2016 Chapter 32   Chapter 32A Worksheet
Tuesday, April 12, 2016   Chapter 32   Chapter 32B Worksheet 
Thursday, April 14, 2016   Chapter 32   Chapter 32C Worksheet 
Friday, April 15, 2016   Chapter 30 Sections 6 and 7   Chapter 30A  37, 40, 47, 48, 50 
Monday, April 18, 2016   Chapter 30 Sections 6 and 7   Chapter 30B Worksheet 
Tuesday, April 19, 2016 Chapter 33   Chapter 33A Worksheet
Thursday, April 21, 2016 Chapter 33   Chapter 33B Worksheet
Friday, April 22, 2016  L Chapter 33   Chapter 33C Worksheet
Monday, April 25, 2016   L Chapter 33   Chapter 33D Worksheet 
Tuesday, April 26, 2016   L Chapter 33   Chapter 33E Worksheet 
Thursday, April 28, 2016   L Chapter 33   Chapter 33F Worksheet 
Friday, April 29, 2016 No Class   Practice Problems - Set C will be handed out in class on Thursday! 
Monday, May 2, 2016 Exam #3  
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 Chapter 34  
Thursday, May 5, 2016 Chapter 34  
Friday, May 6, 2016 Chapter 34  
Monday, May 9, 2016   L Chapter 34  
Tuesday, May 10, 2016   L Chapter 34  
Thursday, May 12, 2016   L Chapters 14 and 6  
Friday, May 13, 2016   L

Chapters 14 and 6

 
Monday, May 16, 2016 Chapters 14 and 6  
Tuesday, May 17, 2016 Exam #4  
Thursday, May 19, 2016 No Class   Prepare for the Final Exam
Friday, May 20, 2016

No Class

  Prepare for the Final Exam

Modified  April 28, 2016 by Galen C. Duree Jr.