PH112 - Physics II

Winter Term 2014

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:    Room DL102                       Phone:    872-6025                                 Box:    182

E-Mail:   Link

Office Hours:    9:00 AM - 11:00 AM  T F  &   4:30 PM - 5:15 PM  M F

Goal: The development of an understanding of rotational motion, torque, mechanical equilibrium, periodic motion, waves, interference, basic electrostatics, capacitors, current, resistors, and simple circuits.

Text:

University Physics, 13th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2012)

Homework: In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:
 Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.
Exams: There will be four examinations (December 18, January 16, February 3, and February 17).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you choose NOT to do any of the homework!)
  Exams – 45%  (If you do not turn in homework, this will be 65%!)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

 

Syllabus

 

The second series of experiments in the Physics II labs, entitled "Resonance in Strings" (a description of which begins on page 137 in the lab manual), will be conducted in BL114 during the week,

 January 12 - 16, 2015

If you are in Dr. Kirtley's or Dr. Ditteon's Wednesday lab section, you will perform the second series of experiments on Wednesday, January 7, 2015.

 

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

PH112-10: The Mastering Physics Course ID is MPDUREE07928 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

PH112-11: The Mastering Physics Course ID is MPDUREE66110 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

 

The PH112 Final Exam Equation Sheet - from last year!

Date Material Assignment
Monday, December 1, 2014 Introduction, Chapter 9   Chapter 9A:  Q6, 1, 2, 5, 8
Tuesday, December 2, 2014 Chapter 9  Chapter 9B:  Q21, 9, 13, 16, 24
Thursday, December 4, 2014   L Chapter 9   Chapter 9C:  Q3, 10, 11, 28, 67
Friday, December 5, 2014   L Chapter 10   Chapter 10A:  Q2, 1, 2, 4, 9
Monday, December 8, 2014    L Chapter 10/9   No new assignment!
Tuesday, December 9, 2014    L Chapter 10/9   Chapter 10B: 11, 13, 15; from Chapter 9: 30, 47
Thursday, December 11, 2014    L Chapter 10/9  Chapter 10C: 17, 31, 33; from Chapter 9: 38, 84, 87
Friday, December 12, 2014    L Chapter 10   Chapter 10D: 20, 29, 36, 37, 47, 67  
Monday, December 15, 2014   L Chapter 11  Chapter 11:  Q1, 11, 14, 18, 46
Tuesday, December 16, 2014   L Chapter 11 Practice Problems - Set A   (No Homework - In-Class Work )
Thursday, December 18, 2014 Exam #1 Turn in homework sets 10C, 10D, 11, and Practice Problems - Set A
Friday, December 19, 2014 No Class

Christmas Break

December 20 - January 4

No Class
Monday, January 5, 2015 Chapter 14  
Tuesday, January 6, 2015 Chapter 14  
Thursday, January 8, 2015 Chapter 14  
Friday, January 9, 2015 Chapter 15  
Monday, January 12, 2015  L Chapter 15  
Tuesday, January 13, 2015  L Chapter 15  
Thursday, January 15, 2015 L Chapter 15  
Friday, January 16, 2015  L Exam #2  
Monday, January 19, 2015 Chapter 21  
Tuesday, January 20, 2015 Chapter 21  
Thursday, January 22, 2015 Chapter 22  
Friday, January 23, 2015 Chapter 22  
Monday, January 26, 2015   L Chapter 23  
Tuesday, January 27, 2015   L Chapter 23  
Thursday, January 29, 2015   L Chapter 24  
Friday, January 30, 2015   L Chapter 24  
Monday, February 2, 2015 Chapter 24  
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 Exam #3  
Thursday, February 5, 2015 Chapter 25  
Friday, February 6, 2015 Chapter 25  
Monday, February 9, 2015   L Chapter 25  
Tuesday, February 10, 2015   L Chapter 26  
Thursday, February 12, 2015   L Chapter 26  
Friday, February 13, 2015   L Chapter 26  
Monday, February 16, 2015 Chapter 26  
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 Exam #4  
Thursday, February 19, 2015 No Class   Review for Final Exam
Friday, February 20, 2015

No Class

  Review for Final Exam

Modified  December 19, 2014 by Galen C. Duree Jr.