PH112 - Physics II

Winter Term 2016

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:    Room DL102                       Phone:    872-6025                                 Box:    182

E-Mail:   Link

Office Hours:    9:15 AM - 11:00 AM  M T R  &   4:30 PM - 5:15 PM  M T  F

Goal: The development of an understanding of rotational motion, torque, mechanical equilibrium, periodic motion, waves, interference, basic electrostatics, capacitors, current, resistors, and simple circuits.

Text:

University Physics, 14th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2016)

Homework: In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:  
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please place the title of the assignment (Example: 1A) on the front of your assignment.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.
Exams: There will be four examinations (December 20, January 16, January 31, and February 14).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you choose NOT to do any of the homework!)
  Exams – 45%  (If you do not turn in homework, this will be 65%!)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

 

Syllabus

The first experiments for the Physics II laboratories, entitled "Angular Acceleration and Moment of Inertia" (a description of which can be found beginning on page 110 in the lab manual) will be conducted in BL114 next week,

December 12 - December 16, 2016

 

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

PH112-10: The Mastering Physics Course ID is MPDUREE17387 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

 

The PH112 Final Exam Equation Sheet - from last year!

Date Material Assignment
Monday, November 28, 2016   L Introduction, Chapter 9   Chapter 9A:  Q6, 1, 2, 5, 8
Tuesday, November 29, 2016   L Chapter 9  Chapter 9B:  Q21, 9, 13, 16, 24
Thursday, December 1, 2016   L Chapter 9   Chapter 9C:  Q3, 10, 11, 23, 26
Friday, December 2, 2016   L Chapter 10    Chapter 10A:  Q1, 1, 2, 4, 9
Monday, December 5, 2016 Chapter 10/9   Chapter 10B: 11, 13, 15; from Chapter 9: 28, 43 
Tuesday, December 6, 2016 Chapter 10/9  
Thursday, December 8, 2016 Chapter 10/9  
Friday, December 9, 2016 Chapter 10/9  
Monday, December 12, 2016   L Chapter 11  
Tuesday, December 13, 2016   L Chapter 11  
Thursday, December 15, 2016   L Chapter 11  
Friday, December 16, 2016   L Chapter 11
Monday, December 19, 2016 Chapter 11  
Tuesday, December 20, 2016 Exam #1  

Christmas Break

December 22 - January 4

No Class
Thursday, January 5, 2017 Chapter 14  
Friday, January 6, 2017 Chapter 14  
Monday, January 9, 2017  L Chapter 14  
Tuesday, January 10, 2017  L Chapter 15  
Thursday, January 12, 2017 L Chapter 15  
Friday, January 13, 2017  L Chapter 15  
Monday, January 16, 2017 Exam #2  
Tuesday, January 17, 2017 Chapter 21  
Thursday, January 19, 2017 Chapter 22  
Friday, January 20, 2017 Chapter 22  
Monday, January 23, 2017   L Chapter 23  
Tuesday, January 24, 2017   L Chapter 23  
Thursday, January 26, 2017   L Chapter 24  
Friday, January 27, 2017   L Chapter 24  
Monday, January 30, 2017 Chapter 24  
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 Exam #3  
Thursday, February 2, 2017 Chapter 25  
Friday, February 3, 2017 Chapter 25  
Monday, February 6, 2017   L Chapter 26  
Tuesday, February 7, 2017   L Chapter 26  
Thursday, February 9, 2017   L Chapter 26  
Friday, February 10, 2017   L No Class  
Monday, February 13, 2017 Chapter 26  
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 Exam #4  
Thursday, February 16, 2017 No Class   Review for Final Exam 
Friday, February 17, 2017 No Class   Review for Final Exam 

Modified  December 05, 2016 by Galen C. Duree Jr.