PH112 - Physics II

Winter Term 2016

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:    Room DL102                       Phone:    872-6025                                 Box:    182

E-Mail:   Link

Office Hours:    9:15 AM - 11:00 AM  M T R  &   4:30 PM - 5:15 PM  M T  F

Goal: The development of an understanding of rotational motion, torque, mechanical equilibrium, periodic motion, waves, interference, basic electrostatics, capacitors, current, resistors, and simple circuits.

Text:

University Physics, 14th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2016)

Homework: In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:  
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please place the title of the assignment (Example: 1A) on the front of your assignment.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.
Exams: There will be four examinations (December 20, January 17, February 2, and February 16).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework 20%  (Unless you choose NOT to do any of the homework!)
  Exams 45%  (If you do not turn in homework, this will be 65%!)
  Laboratory 15%
  Final Exam 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

 

Syllabus

The final exam for this class is scheduled to start at 8 AM on Monday, February 20, 2017 in room O103.

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

PH112-10: The Mastering Physics Course ID is MPDUREE17387 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

Download a copy of Practice Problems - Set D

The PH112 Final Exam Equation Sheet for this year!

The PH112 Final Exam Equation Sheet - from last year!

Date Material Assignment
Monday, November 28, 2016   L Introduction, Chapter 9    Chapter 9A:  Q6, 1, 2, 5, 8
Tuesday, November 29, 2016   L Chapter 9    Chapter 9B:  Q21, 9, 13, 16, 24
Thursday, December 1, 2016   L Chapter 9   Chapter 9C:  Q3, 10, 11, 23, 26
Friday, December 2, 2016   L Chapter 10   Chapter 10A:  Q1, 1, 2, 4, 9
Monday, December 5, 2016 Chapter 10/9   Chapter 10B: 11, 13, 15; from Chapter 9: 28, 43 
Tuesday, December 6, 2016 Chapter 10/9   Chapter 10C:  8, 10, 62, 65 
Thursday, December 8, 2016 Chapter 10/9   Chapter 10D: 16, 29, 31; from Chapter 9: 36, 76, 77
Friday, December 9, 2016 Chapter 10  Chapter 10E:  17, 20, 21, 27, 28
Monday, December 12, 2016   L Chapter 10  Chapter 10F:  Q14, 35, 36, 37
   Extra Credit: 39
 
Tuesday, December 13, 2016   L Chapter 10/11  Chapter 10G:  Q22, 44, 45, 47, 48
  
Extra Credit: 77
 
Thursday, December 15, 2016   L Chapter 11   Chapter 11:  Q1, 11, 13, 14, 18, 44
    Extra Credit:  90
Friday, December 16, 2016   L No Class
Monday, December 19, 2016 Chapter 11   Practice Problems - Set A   (No Homework - In-Class Work )
Tuesday, December 20, 2016 Exam #1 Turn in homework set 11 and Practice Problems - Set A

Christmas Break

December 22 - January 4

No Class
Thursday, January 5, 2017 Chapter 14   Chapter 14A:  Q1, 4, 7, 13, 19, 20, 21
Friday, January 6, 2017 Chapter 14   Chapter 14B:  Q11, 24, 25, 29, 35, 38, 50
   Extra Credit:  Q19, 59, 61, 62, 63  Due Monday, Jan. 16, 2017
Monday, January 9, 2017  L Chapter 14/15   Chapter 15A:  Q5, 6, 8, 15, 19
Tuesday, January 10, 2017  L Chapter 15   Chapter 15B:  Q10, 22, 28, 35
Thursday, January 12, 2017 L Chapter 15   Chapter 15C:  Q16, 12, 16, 39, 40, 64
Friday, January 13, 2017  L Chapter 15   Practice Problems - Set B   (No Homework - In-Class Work ) 
Monday, January 16, 2017 Chapter 21   Chapter 21A:  Q5, 6, 19, 38, 45
Tuesday, January 17, 2017 Exam #2   Turn in homework sets 15B, 15C, and Practice Problems - Set B
Thursday, January 19, 2017 Chapter 21  Chapter 21B:  Q12, 49, 51, 52, 87
Friday, January 20, 2017 Chapter 22   Chapter 22A:  Q1, 1, 3, 6, 8
Monday, January 23, 2017   L Chapter 22   Chapter 22B:  Q5, 14, 17, 19, 21  Extra Credit:  45
Tuesday, January 24, 2017   L Chapter 23   Chapter 23A:  Q1, 5, 13, 15, 19 
Thursday, January 26, 2017   L Chapter 23   Chapter 23B:  Q4, 26, 27, 32, 69 
Friday, January 27, 2017   L Chapter 24   Chapter 24A:  Q1, 1, 3, 5, 16 
Monday, January 30, 2017 Chapter 24   Chapter 24B:  Q6, 17, 21, 26, 51, 53 
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 Chapter 24   Practice Problems - Set B (No Homework - In-Class Work) 
Thursday, February 2, 2017 Exam #3  Turn in homework sets 22A, 22B, 23A, 23B, 24A, 24B, and Practice Problems - Set C
Friday, February 3, 2017 Chapter 25   Chapter 25A:  Q1, 2, 3, 10, 51 
Monday, February 6, 2017   L Chapter 25   Chapter 25B:  Q14, Q15, 23, 26, 29, 35, 47
Tuesday, February 7, 2017   L Chapter 26
Dr. Western
  Chapter 26A:  Q1, 11, 15, 16, 17
Thursday, February 9, 2017   L Chapter 26
Dr. Western
  Chapter 26B:  Q21, 39, 41, 48, 51
Friday, February 10, 2017   L No Class   Chapter 26C:  Q4, 24, 26, 27, 29
Monday, February 13, 2017 Chapter 26   No new assignment! 
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 Chapter 26   Turn in homework sets 25A, 25B, 26A, 26B, 26C, and Practice Problems - Set D
Thursday, February 16, 2017 Exam #4  
Friday, February 17, 2017 No Class   Review for Final Exam 

Modified  February 19, 2017 by Galen C. Duree Jr.