PH111 - Physics I

Fall Term 2015

General Information

Instructor:   Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:   CL106 (The Department Office)

Phone:    872-6025                                 Campus Mailbox:    182

E-Mail:  duree@rose-hulman.edu

Office Hours:    9:30 AM - 10:45 AM   T Th F &  4:20 PM - 5:15 PM  M T F

Goal:

Mechanics is one of the fundamental modeling tools available in physics.  With this in mind, the goal for this course is to provide students with the opportunity to develop an understanding of many of the fundamental concepts in the field of mechanics and some of the terms used to describe and explain many physical phenomena that occur under this topic.  The students will deal with many problems that relate these concepts together and investigate the implications as well as perform some laboratory experiments to investigate some of the models developed during the lectures.  The students should develop a proper conceptual understanding about motion and the effect forces can have on an object in motion, whether circular or linear.  The students should also develop an awareness of the different ways that forces can manifest themselves in a problem and what implications their presence may have on a system.  The models discussed will serve as a basis to investigate and understand more abstract phenomena which will be covered in subsequent courses, not just physics courses.

Text:

Principles and Practice of Physics, Eric Mazur (2015)

Homework: In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:
 
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.
Exams: There will be four examinations (September 22, October 6, October 26, and November 10).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you choose NOT to do any of the homework!)
  Exams – 45%  (If you do not turn in homework, this will be 65%!)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

 

 Syllabus

The Final Exam will be conducted in room O259 starting at 8AM on Monday, November 16, 2015.

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

The Mastering Physics Course ID is MPDUREE91837 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

Download Practice Problems - Set D

The Physics I Equation Sheet for the Final Exam.

Date Material Assignment
Thursday, September 3, 2015 Introduction,  Chapter 1   Chapter 1A:  37, 40, 42, 48, 56
Friday, September 4, 2015 Chapter 1   Chapter 1B:  68, 69, Chapter 1B Worksheet
Monday, September 7, 2015  L Chapter 10.2, 10.6   Chapter 10A:  26, 27, 28, Chapter 10A Worksheet
 
Error Analysis Worksheet - due Friday, Sept. 11
Tuesday, September 8, 2015   L Chapter 12.8   Chapter 12A Worksheet due Friday, Sept. 11
Thursday, September 10, 2015   L Chapter 12.8, Chapter 2   No new assignment 
Friday, September 11, 2015   L Chapter 2   Chapter 2A:  4, 6, 26, 45, 52
Monday, September 14, 2015   L Chapter 2, Chapter 3   Chapter 2B:  54, 57, 59, 68, 78 
Tuesday, September 15, 2015   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3A:  2, 4, 6, 29, 78, 85 
Thursday, September 17, 2015   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3B:  15, 17, 46, 51, 58, 61 
Friday, September 18, 2015   L Chapter 10.7   Chapter 10B:  38, 41, 44, 52, 53, 54 
  Extra Credit:  56, 57
Monday, September 21, 2015 Chapter 10.7  Practice Problems - Set A (No Homework - In-Class Work)  
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 Exam #1  Turn in homework sets 3A, 3B, 10B, and Practice Problems - Set A
Thursday, September 24, 2015 Chapter 4   Chapter 4A:  29, 34, 40, 41, 47 
Friday, September 25, 2015 Chapter 4   Chapter 4B:  50, 51, 56, 65, 80 
Monday, September 28, 2015   L Chapter 5   Chapter 5A:  24, 35, 36 
Tuesday, September 29, 2015   L Chapter 5   Chapter 5B:  42, 50, 58, 66
Thursday, October 1, 2015   L Chapter 7   Chapter 7A:  8, 31, 36, 44, 50 
Friday, October 2, 2015   L Chapter 7   Chapter 7B:  56, 58, 60, 65, 79  Extra Credit:  81 
Monday, October 5, 2015 Chapter 7   Practice Problems - Set B (No homework - in-class work)
Tuesday, October 6, 2015 Exam #2   Turn in homework sets 7A, 7B, and Practice Problems - Set B  
Thursday, October 8, 2015 Fall Break - No Class  
Friday, October 9, 2015 Fall Break - No Class  
Monday, October 12, 2015 Chapter 8   Chapter 8A:  1, 7, 19, 29, 34, 35 
Tuesday, October 13, 2015 Chapter 8   Chapter 8B:  37, 47, 51, 80, 84 
Thursday, October 15, 2015 Chapter 8   Chapter 8C:  78, 90, 93, 94 
Friday, October 16, 2015 Chapter 9   Chapter 9A:  20, 29, 33, 67 
Monday, October 19, 2015   L Chapter 9   Chapter 9B:  44, 47, 49, 57, 58, 62  Extra Credit:  46, 53
Tuesday, October 20, 2015   L Chapter 10   Chapter 10A:  22, 69, 72, 85, 91 
Thursday, October 22, 2015   L Chapter 10   Chapter 10B:  61, 62, 93, 110  Extra Credit:  68, 70, 111
Friday, October 23, 2015   L Chapter 10   Practice Problems - Set C (No homework - in-class work)
Monday, October 26, 2015 Exam #3   Turn in homework sets 10A, 10B, and Practice Problems - Set C  
Tuesday, October 27, 2015 Chapter 11   Chapter 11A:  4, 8, 9, 12, 27 
Thursday, October 29, 2015 Chapter 11   Chapter 11B:  26, 33, 37, 39
Friday, October 30, 2015 Chapter 13   Chapter 13:  21, 22, 33, 38, 43 
Monday, November 2, 2015   L Chapter 13/Chapter 22   Chapter 22A:  1, 3 
Tuesday, November 3, 2015   L Chapter 22   Chapter 22B:  28, 29, 61, 77 
Thursday, November 5, 2015   L Chapter 27   Chapter 27:  47, 49
Friday, November 6, 2015   L Lecture Only   Rocket Problems Worksheet  (Extra Credit)
Monday, November 9, 2015 Chapter 27   Practice Problems - Set D (No homework - in-class work) 
Tuesday, November 10, 2015 Exam #4 Turn in homework sets 22A, 22B, 27, and Practice Problems - Set D 
Thursday, November 12, 2015 Guest Lecture
Extra Credit session
 Dr. Joshi (adjunct faculty candidate)
Friday, November 13, 2015  

No Class

  Review for Final Exam

 

Modified November 13, 2015 by Galen C. Duree Jr.