PH111 - Physics I

Fall Term 2014

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:    DL102                       Phone:    872-6025                                 Box:    182

E-Mail:  duree@rose-hulman.edu

Office Hours:    9:30 AM - 11:00 AM   T Th  &  4:20 PM - 5:30 PM  M T Th F

Goal:

Mechanics is one of the fundamental modeling tools available in physics.  With this in mind, the goal for this course is to provide students with the opportunity to develop an understanding of many of the fundamental concepts in the field of mechanics and some of the terms used to describe and explain many physical phenomena that occur in this area.  The students will deal with many problems that relate these concepts together and investigate the implications as well as perform some laboratory experiments to investigate some of the models.  The students should develop a proper conceptual understanding about motion and the effect forces can have on an object in motion, whether circular or linear.  The students should also develop an awareness of the different ways that forces can manifest themselves in a problem and what implications their presence may have on a system.

Text:

University Physics, 13th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2012)

Homework: In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:
 
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.
Exams: There will be four examinations (September 23, October 17, October 30, and November 11).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you choose NOT to do any of the homework!)
  Exams – 45%  (If you do not turn in homework, this will be 65%!)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

 

 Syllabus

The orientation sessions for the Physics I laboratories will be conducted in BL113 next week,

September 15 - 19, 2014

If you are in Dr. Wagner's lab section, section 65, your orientation session will be held on Wednesday, September 10, 2014.

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

PH111-01: The Master Physics Course ID is MPDUREE79719 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

PH111-02: The Master Physics Course ID is MPDUREE86848 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

The Physics I Equation Sheet from last year's Final Exam.

Date Material Assignment
Thursday, September 4, 2014 Introduction,  Chapter 1   Chapter 1A:  Q8, Q10, 1, 9, 10
Friday, September 5, 2014 Chapter 1   Chapter 1B:  Q15, 30, 31, 35, 39 
Monday, September 8, 2014 Chapter 1   Chapter 1C:  Q20, 40, 42, 45, 48, 49
 
Error Analysis Worksheet - due Friday, Sept. 12
Tuesday, September 9, 2014 Chapter 1   No new assignment! 
Thursday, September 11, 2014 Chapter 2   Chapter 2A:  Q2, 1, 7, 11, 12
Friday, September 12, 2014 Chapter 2   Chapter 2B:  Q12, 21, 30, 31, 64
 Error Analysis Worksheet due at the end of the day! 
Monday, September 15, 2014   L Chapter 2   Chapter 2C:  Q19, 36, 38, 42, 44, 80 
Tuesday, September 16, 2014   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3A:  Q5, 1, 9, 10, 16  Extra Credit: 4
Thursday, September 18, 2014   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3B:  Q6, 19, 55, 59, 63, 65  
Friday, September 19, 2014   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3C:  Q16, 25, 26, 28, 30
Monday, September 22, 2014 Chapter 3  
Tuesday, September 23, 2014 Exam #1  
Thursday, September 25, 2014 Chapter 4  
Friday, September 26, 2014 Chapter 4  
Monday, September 29, 2014   L Chapter 5  
Tuesday, September 30, 2014   L Chapter 5  
Thursday, October 2, 2014   L Chapter 5  
Friday, October 3, 2014   L Chapter 13  
Monday, October 6, 2014 Chapter 21  
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 Chapter 21  
Thursday, October 9, 2014 Fall Break - No Class  
Friday, October 10, 2014 Fall Break - No Class  
Monday, October 13, 2014   L Chapter 27  
Tuesday, October 14, 2014   L Chapter 27  
Thursday, October 16, 2014   L Chapter 27  
Friday, October 17, 2014   L Exam #2  
Monday, October 20, 2014 Chapter 6  
Tuesday, October 21, 2014 Chapter 6  
Thursday, October 23, 2014 Chapter 6  
Friday, October 24, 2014 Chapter 7  
Monday, October 27, 2014   L Chapter 7  
Tuesday, October 28, 2014   L Chapter 7  
Thursday, October 30, 2014   L Exam #3  
Friday, October 31, 2014   L Chapter 8  
Monday, November 3, 2014 No Class  
Tuesday, November 4, 2014 Chapter 8  
Thursday, November 6, 2014 Chapter 8  
Friday, November 7, 2014 Chapter 8  
Monday, November 10, 2014   L Chapter 8  
Tuesday, November 11, 2014   L Exam #4  
Thursday, November 13, 2014   L No Class   Review for Final Exam
Friday, November 14, 2014   L

No Class

  Review for Final Exam

 

Modified September 18, 2014 by Galen C. Duree Jr.