PH111 - Physics I

Fall Term 2016

General Information

Instructor:    Galen C. Duree Jr., PhD

Office:  CL105 (Department Office)    Phone:  872-6025             Box:    182

E-Mail:  duree@rose-hulman.edu

Office Hours:    9:30 AM - 10:15 AM   M T Th F &  4:20 PM - 5:30 PM  M T Th F

Goal:

Mechanics is one of the fundamental modeling tools available in physics.  With this in mind, the goal for this course is to provide students with the opportunity to develop an understanding of many of the fundamental concepts in the field of mechanics and some of the terms used to describe and explain many physical phenomena that occur in this area.  The students will deal with many problems that relate these concepts together and investigate the implications as well as perform some laboratory experiments to investigate some of the models.  The students should develop a proper conceptual understanding about motion and the effect forces can have on an object in motion, whether circular or linear.  The students should also develop an awareness of the different ways that forces can manifest themselves in a problem and what implications their presence may have on a system.

Text:

University Physics, 14th edition, Hugh Young and Roger Freedman (2016)

Homework: In general, homework in the Physics Department is all supposed to be done on-line using Mastering Physics.  Since not everyone loves doing things on-line, I will give you three options for dealing with homework in this class.  Option 1:  Do all of the homework on paper and by hand; option 2: Do all of the homework on-line using Mastering Physics; option 3: Do not do any homework problems, but 65% of your final course grade will be determined by three of the midterm exams.

If you choose to do option 1, please follow the listed rules and guidelines:
 
Homework problems will be assigned in class (and listed at the bottom of this page) and will be due at my office by 5:30 PM on the next day that the class meets.  No credit will be given for homework problems turned in late.  Please show all of your work.  Include the formula used and the numbers used, or give your reasoning when appropriate.  Partial credit will be given if this information is missing, even if you have the correct answer.   Place a box around your numerical answers and include appropriate units.  If the units are missing, when appropriate, the answer is not correct.  Please write only on one side of the paper.  Problems written on the back will not be graded.  Please place the title of the assignment (Example: 1A) on the front of your assignment.  Please fold homework papers in half (to make an 8.5 x 5.5 in. rectangle) and write your name and box number (neatly, please!) on one side.
Exams: There will be four examinations (September 20, October 14, October 27, and November 11).  The highest three scores will be used to determine the exam grade.
Grades: The final grade will be determined as follows:
  Homework – 20%  (Unless you choose NOT to do any of the homework!)
  Exams – 45%  (If you do not turn in homework, this will be 65%!)
  Laboratory – 15%
  Final Exam – 20%
You must pass the laboratory in order to pass the course!

Grading

Scale

93% +

A

86% - 92%

B+

80% - 85%

B

75% - 79%

C+

70% - 74%

C

65% - 69%

D+

60% - 64%

D

0% - 59%

F

 

 Syllabus

Labs meet this week

The second experiments for the Physics I laboratories entitled "Newton's Second Law" (a description of which can be found beginning on page 92 in the lab manual) will be conducted in BL113 this week,

September 26 - 30, 2016

 

The following is a rough outline of the material that will be covered in the class sessions:

PH111-04: The Master Physics Course ID is MPDUREE09735 and the ZIP code for the school is 47803.

Download a copy of Practice Problems - Set A

The Physics I Equation Sheet from a previous year's Final Exam.

Date Material Assignment
Thursday, September 1, 2016 Introduction,  Chapter 1   Chapter 1A:  Q6, Q8, 1, 9, 10
Friday, September 2, 2016 Chapter 1   Chapter 1B:  Q14, 3, 5, 27, 28 
Monday, September 5, 2016 Chapter 1   Chapter 1C:  Q10, 30, 35, 36, 37, 38
 
Error Analysis Worksheet - due Friday, Sept. 9
Tuesday, September 6, 2016 Chapter 1   Chapter 1D:  Q19, 42, 44, 45, 47, 48
Thursday, September 8, 2016  L Chapter 2   Chapter 2A:  Q2, 1, 7, 9, 11
Friday, September 9, 2016  L Chapter 2   Chapter 2B:  Q12, 12, 17, 21, 30, 66 
Monday, September 12, 2016   L Chapter 2   Chapter 2C:  Q19, 36, 38, 42, 44, 70 
Tuesday, September 13, 2016   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3A:  Q5, 1, 9, 10, 16
  
Extra Credit: 4
Thursday, September 15, 2016   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3B:  Q6, 19, 55, 59, 63, 65  
Friday, September 16, 2016   L Chapter 3   Chapter 3C:  Q16, 25, 26, 28, 29
 
Extra Credit:  32, 35
Monday, September 19, 2016  L Chapter 3  Practice Problems - Set A (No Homework - In-Class Work)  
Tuesday, September 20, 2016  L Exam #1  Turn in homework sets 3A, 3B, 3C and Practice Problems - Set A
Thursday, September 22, 2016 Chapter 4   Chapter 4A:  Q13, 4, 8, 12, 13 
Friday, September 23, 2016 Chapter 4   Chapter 4B:  Q26, 20, 23, 31, 39, 48
Monday, September 26, 2016   L Chapter 5   Chapter 5A:  Q1, 2, 14, 15, 17
Tuesday, September 27, 2016   L Chapter 5   Chapter 5B:  Q10, 7, 28, 34, 74  Extra Credit 87, 92
Thursday, September 29, 2016   L Chapter 5   Chapter 5C:  Q15, 45, 46, 48, 94
Friday, September 30, 2016   L Chapter 13  
Monday, October 3, 2016 Chapter 21  
Tuesday, October 4, 2016 Chapter 21  
Thursday, October 6, 2016 Fall Break - No Class  
Friday, October 7, 2016 Fall Break - No Class  
Monday, October 10, 2016 Chapter 27  
Tuesday, October 11, 2016 Chapter 27  
Thursday, October 13, 2016 Chapter 27  
Friday, October 14, 2016 Exam #2  
Monday, October 17, 2016  L Chapter 6  
Tuesday, October 18, 2016  L Chapter 6  
Thursday, October 20, 2016  L Chapter 6  
Friday, October 21, 2016  L Chapter 7  
Monday, October 24, 2016 Chapter 7  
Tuesday, October 25, 2016 Chapter 7  
Thursday, October 27, 2016 Exam #3  
Friday, October 28, 2016 Chapter 8  
Monday, October 31, 2016  L Chapter 8  
Tuesday, November 1, 2016  L Chapter 8  
Thursday, November 3, 2016  L Chapter 8  
Friday, November 4, 2016  L Chapter 8   Rocket Problems Worksheet
Monday, November 7, 2016 Chapter 8  
Tuesday, November 11, 2016 Exam #4  
Thursday, November 10, 2016 No Class   Review for Final Exam
Friday, November 11, 2016  

No Class

  Review for Final Exam

 

Modified September 27, 2016 by Galen C. Duree Jr.