Coleman, Evans Selected to NCAA Outdoor Nationals

evans-ac

EVENT HOMEPAGE / EVENT PROGRAM 

LIVE RESULTS / LIVE VIDEO

CLAREMONT, CALIF. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology senior Sutton Coleman (Lebanon, Va.) and junior Liz Evans (Bicknell/North Knox) have been chosen to compete in the 2012 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track and Field National Championships starting Thursday at Claremont-Mudd-Scripps in California.

Evans has earned the No. 1 seed in the women's high jump with a season best leap of 5' 9 1/2" (1.76 meters) at the Rose-Hulman Twilight Meet.  She also cleared 5' 9" on Friday night at North Central College.

coleman-relayColeman captured two top-eight seeds for the upcoming championships.  He has earned the No. 4 seed in the 110-meter high hurdles with a season best time of 14.35 seconds and the No. 8 seed in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles in 52.58 seconds.  Both marks were set at North Central on Friday.

Coleman opens the week by competing in the preliminary round of the 400-meter hurdles on Thursday at 5:25 p.m. Pacific Time (8:25 Eastern).  Evans will compete in the high jump finals on Friday at 2:15 PT (5:15 ET).  Coleman completes his preliminary competition with an appearance in the 110-meter high hurdles at 5:25 PT on Friday (8:25 ET).

Finals competition for Coleman is set for Saturday at 3:25 PT (6:25 ET) for the 110-high hurdles and 4:55 PT (7:55 ET) for the 400-intermediate hurdles.

Coleman has recorded five All-American honors in his Rose-Hulman track and field career entering the 2012 Outdoor Championships.  His finishes include second in the indoor 60-hurdles (2012), fourth in the outdoor 400-hurdles (2011), sixth in the indoor 55-meter hurdles (2011), eighth in the outdoor 110-hurdles (2011) and eighth in the outdoor 400-hurdles (2009).

Evans, also a five-time All-American, earned the 2012 NCAA Division III Indoor National Championships for her third career national title.  The five-time All-American has also been named NCAA Great Lakes Region Athlete of the Year three times in her career.

Evans has three career first-place finishes and two national runner-up honors in five previous appearances in NCAA National Championship meets.  She has joined javelin national champion Chris Trapp as the only three-time national champion in Fightin' Engineer athletic history.

The decorated Rose-Hulman track and field history includes 44 All-American awards, eight individual national championships and eight national runner-up efforts entering the 2012 NCAA Outdoor Championships.