School Record, Three NCAA Efforts Lead IU Performance


746-relay-recordBLOOMINGTON, IND. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology student-athletes combined for one school record and three strong NCAA caliber performances at Indiana University on Friday.

Sophomore Liz Evans (Bicknell/North Knox) led the effort with an NCAA Division III automatic qualification and runner-up performance in the women's high jump.  Evans reached the NCAA automatic height of 5' 7 1/4" to place second behind only a vaulter from Indiana University.

The 4-x-400 meter relay team of sophomore Brent Austgen (Cedar Lake/Hanover Central), senior Paul Bouagnon (St. Charles, Ill./Burlington Central), sophomore Tyler Hannan (Winchester, Ky./George Rogers Clark) and junior Sutton Coleman (Lebanon, Va.) ran the fifth-ranked time in NCAA Division III this season with a winning effort of 3:15.21.  The mark drops the school record by more than two seconds and puts Rose-Hulman into provisional status in a men's sprint relay event for the first time.

Coleman ran the sixth best time in the NCAA Division III 110-meter high hurdles this season to place sixth against Division I competition.  Coleman was the only non-Division I finalist and ran the second best time of his career with an NCAA provisional mark of 14.59 seconds.

Senior Derek Bischak (Angola) snapped a 29-year old school record with a 1,500-meter time of 3:54.87 to place second overall.  Bischak broke the record previously established by cross country All-American Mike O'Brien in 1982.

Other competitors on the day included sophomore Collin Crowson (Dublin, Ohio/Jerome) with a 12th place in the pole vault (14-11); sophomore Greg Larmore (Deerfield, Ill.) with a 14th place in the hammer throw (152-5); freshman Andrew Thompson (Mundelein, Ill./Vernon Hills) with a 15th in the 1,500-meter run (4:08.05); and sophomore Creasy Clauser (Crawfordsville/Southmont) with a 16th place and heat victory in the 800-meters (2:19.23).

Selected individuals will return to action next weekend at the University of Louisville.