Danesis Earns Fourth Tennis MVP Award to Highlight All-HCAC Team

DanesisTERRE HAUTE, IND. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology senior  Sam Danesis (Akron, Ohio/Revere) became the first female student-athlete in school history to earn four Conference Player of the Year awards in her career by earning the title from the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference today.

Danesis stands 15-2 in singles play this season and holds a career record of 71-13.  Her HCAC singles record remains a perfect 41-0 entering this week's league postseason tournament.

In doubles play, Danesis has teamed with freshman Melissa Montgomery (Alexandria/Monroe) for a 13-3 mark this season.  Her career doubles record stands at 64-15.

The totals give Danesis career school records for singles wins (71) and winning percentage (.845), doubles wins (64) and winning percentage (.810), and total victories (135) and winning percentage (.828).

Junior Megan Chann (Columbia, Mo./Rock Bridge) joined Danesis on the first-team all-conference squad.  Chann stands 8-4 in singles this season and has teamed with freshman Sage Sackett (Kalamazoo, Mich./Mattawan) for a 9-4 doubles mark.  Chann ranks second in school history in doubles wins (43) and doubles winning percentage (.828).

Montgomery, Sackett and sophomore Klara Schroederus (Glenview, Ill./Glenbrook South) each qualified for the honorable mention all-conference squad.

Montgomery holds a 7-4 singles record at the No. 3 position and stands 13-3 in doubles play.  Sackett stands 9-4 in doubles play and 5-8 at No. 2 singles.  Schroederus has tallied a 9-4 mark in singles play and a 10-2 mark in doubles.

Sophomore Ellyn Norris (Penn Laird, Va./Spotswood) rounded out the all-league performances with a spot on the all-sportsmanship team.  Norris stands 9-2 at the No. 6 singles position and 10-3 in doubles play this fall.

Rose-Hulman stands 8-2 overall and squares off with Oakland City tonight at 5 p.m., before competing in the four-team HCAC postseason tournament on Friday.  The winner of the tournament advances to the NCAA Division III Championships.