Five Honored by HCAC; Combs Freshman of the Year

746-all-hcacTERRE HAUTE, IND. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology placed five players on the all-Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Women's Soccer Team, including three first-team award winners and the league's Freshman of the Year.

Goalkeeper Lucinda Combs (Danville, Ky./Boyle County) led the award winners with HCAC Freshman of the Year and first-team all-conference honors.

Freshman Katie DeMoss (Martinsville/Roncalli) and sophomore Nicky Wheeler (Avon) also earned first-team all-conference recognition in the balloting by league coaches.

Second-team all-league honorees included freshman Hayley Gilliam (Zionsville) and Mallory McDevitt (Wapakoneta, Ohio).

In addition, junior Cassie Cox (Louisville, Ky.) earned a spot on the league's all-sportsmanship team for her efforts this season.

Combs set a single-season school record with eight individual shutouts and helped Rose-Hulman shutout the opposition nine times in 19 matches this season.  Her save percentage of .875 led the HCAC and Combs' goals against average of 0.78 ranked third in the league.

DeMoss led the Fightin' Engineers with eight goals and 19 points in her freshman season.  She scored five game winning goals and scored her eight goals in just 18 shots on net.  DeMoss also booted home a pair of penalty kicks this season.

Wheeler finished third on the Engineers in scoring with four goals and nine points.  Her efforts included two game winning goals, and the two-year starter increased her career scoring totals to six goals and three assists.

Gilliam tallied four goals and 11 points to place second on the team in scoring.  Her efforts included 13 shots on goal and one game winning score.

McDevitt helped anchor the defensive effort in the midfield and recorded three assists in 19 matches.  Her efforts helped Rose-Hulman's team goals against average rank third in the league at 0.76.

Rose-Hulman finished 9-7-3 overall and 4-3-2 in Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference play for the team's first winning season since 2008.