Six Football Players Named to Hampshire Honor Society

746-hampshireTERRE HAUTE, IND. -- Six members of the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology football team have been named to the National Football Foundation Hampshire Honor Society, in results released today by the NFF and the College Hall of Fame.

Offensive lineman Matt Baber (Galveston/Lewis Cass), running back Calvin Bueltel (Huntingburg/Southridge), wide receiver Reed Eason (St. Louis, Mo./Parkway North), versatile backfield player J.D. Hill (New Palestine), tight end Benjamin Hopf (Huntingburg/Jasper) and wide receiver Andrew Huddleston (Chesterton)  earned spots on the squad, based on the combination of their on-the-field and in-the-classroom achievement.

The Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference was also represented by Aaron Wladischkin from Bluffton University.

The qualifications for the squad that included being a starter or key reserve with a 3.20 cumulative grade point average and being on track to graduate.

Rose-Hulman finished with a 6-4 record last fall for its fifth consecutive winning season, matching the longest consecutive streak of winning seasons since 1986-90.

The Hampshire Honor Society consisted of 671 players from 241 institutions.  Rose-Hulman opens the 2011 campaign on Sept. 3 at home against DePauw University.