Rose-Hulman Leads HCAC in Academic All-League Awards


HCAClogoTERRE HAUTE, IND. -- For the eighth consecutive year since joining the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference, the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology athletic department paced the league with 108 academic all-conference honorees during the most recent academic year, in final results released today by the league office.

The football, men's indoor track and men's outdoor track teams led the award list with 17 academic all-conference award winners each.   Men's cross country had eight award winners, men's soccer added seven and three teams (men's soccer, men's swimming, women's soccer) had six award winners for the Tom Bohlsen Academic All-League honoree list.  The honor is named in recognition of the league's first commissioner, who served the role from 1998-2008.

Academic all-conference student-athletes must follow the criteria of carrying a 3.50 cumulative grade point average entering their playing season and be in at least their second year at the institution.

2013-14 Rose-Hulman Academic All-HCAC Honorees (108):
Aaron Abbott, Football
Matt Angel, Football
Drew Belk, Men's Soccer
Cassidy Bevington, Softball
Matthew Billingsley, Men's Cross Country; Indoor & Outdoor Track
Daniel Brindley, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track 
Nick Buchta, Football
Brandon Bullitt, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Michael Bush, Baseball
T.J. Chin, Football
Lucinda Combs, Women's Soccer; Indoor & Outdoor Track
Matthew Conrad, Men's Tennis
Kate Dangel, Volleyball
Brian Decker, Men's Basketball
Joseph Dillon, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Tyler Duffy, Men's Basketball
Jacob Dye, Football
Tai Enrico, Men's Swimming & Diving
Zac Erba, Football; Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Jose Escandon, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Becca Evans, Women's Soccer
Kevin Farley, Baseball
Chris Grable, Baseball 
John Harn, Men's Cross Country & Outdoor Track
Derek Heeger, Men's Cross Country & Indoor Track 
Carly Heibel, Softball
Josh Hoptry, Football
Alec Houpt, Men's Basketball & Soccer
Andy Hunkeler, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track 
Marshall Ishmael, Men's Soccer
Sarah Jensen, Volleyball
Spencer Johnson, Men's Soccer
Rachel Johnstone, Women's Soccer
Jake Kelley, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Matthew King, Men's Swimming & Diving
Celeste Kline, Women's Swimming & Diving
Gene Kum, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
John Krasich, Baseball
Kent Kraus, Men's Golf
Ryan Landwehr, Football
Craig Larew, Football
Michael Laritz, Football
Alex Leversen, Men's Cross Country; Indoor & Outdoor Track
Mitchell Lippy, Men's Swimming & Diving
Peter Lokken, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track 
Kevin Ly, Men's Cross Country
Katie Maier, Women's Soccer
Orion Martin, Men's Swimming & Diving
Kevin Mauser, Men's Cross Country; Indoor & Outdoor Track 
Mallory McDevitt, Women's Soccer
Jimmy Miller, Men's Basketball
Lauren Miller, Women's Tennis
Tanner Mitchell, Football
Nathan Moore, Men's Tennis
Carrie Morris, Women's Basketball
Austin Mroz, Women's Indoor Track
Kevin O'Dowd, Football
Haley O'Neil, Women's Soccer
Sanders Park, Men's Golf 
Andrew Podgorski, Men's Swimming & Diving
Claire Raycraft, Volleyball
Cody Reynolds, Men's Soccer
Dillon Reynolds, Men's Basketball
Tyler Rockwood, Football; Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Logan Ryan, Men's Swimming & Diving
Patrick Salay, Men's Cross Country
Chris Sander, Football
Mike Schiff, Men's Soccer
Ashley Schumacher, Women's Cross Country
Dieter Schultz, Men's Soccer
David Shumate, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Jaclyn Smith, Women's Golf
Nathan Smith, Men's Indoor & Outdoor Track
Kyle Smolarek, Men's Cross Country; Indoor & Outdoor Track 
Brian Soller, Football
Marie Stettler, Women's Tennis
Colleen Stevenson, Women's Tennis
Eric Taylor, Football
Lindsey Watterson, Softball
Mitch Williams, Basketball
Joseph Woodley, Football