Quick Guide to EU Institutions

2010 Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology





Delegation Structure

Position -- *Committee*

Prime Minister (Head of Delegation) -- European Council Foreign Ministers (Deputy Head of Delegation) -- General Affairs and External Relations [GAERC]

Economics/Finance Minister -- *Economics and Finance* [*Ecofin*]

Agricultural Minister -- Agriculture Committee

Environment Minister -- Environment Committee

European Commissioner (Internal Market and Services) --

European Commission

Director-General (Environmental Policy) -- Directorates-General [DGs]

Director-General/Alternate -- Directorates-General OR Fill in for any other delegate

NOTE: No agriculture committee/ministers in this year's model.

The European Council

- Consists of the heads of government (prime ministers) of member states
- Meets at bi-annual summits (June and December)
- Chaired by the President of the Council of the European Union (Herman Van Rompuy [Belgium])
- Strategic direction, resolve disputes, set common foreign and security policy (CFSP)
- Informal procedures and emphasis on consensus decision-making
- Product: Conclusions of the Presidency (document laying out basic decisions of summit)

The European Commission

Bureaucracy of the EU

- Both legislative (initiating directives) and executive (implementation) functions
- College of Commissioners'
 - 27 Commissioners (One from each member state)
 - President of the Commission (Jose Manuel Barroso)
- Each Commissioner heads up a Directorate-General (DG; like a US federal government department)
- DG's headed by Directors-General permanent bureaucrat

The European Commission

- DG's match portfolios of Commissioners, but for simulation, only cover:
 - Foreign affairs
 - Economic policy
 - Environmental policy
- Product: Discuss and Approve Laws and Policies
 - Drafts from Directors-General
 - Sent to Council of Ministers for Final Approval

Council of the European Union

- One body with multiple configurations
- Chaired by a country that holds the Presidency of the Council (Spain)
- Foreign Affairs Council chaired by High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy (Lady Catherine Ashton [UK])
- For simulation, only GAERC, Ecofin, and Environment
- Decisions by consensus or Qualified Majority Vote (QMV)

Council(s) of the EU --GAERC --Ecofin --Environment (EU Foreign Minister Ashton)

Accepts/Rejects OR refers to European Council if unable to resolve

European Council (President Van Rompuy)

Provides strategic guidance



General points



- All institutions emphasize consensus decisionmaking
- Commissioners and D-Gs represent EU, not home country
- European Council and Council of Ministers chaired by President of Council – a country (Spain)
- European Parliament and ECJ not included in the Model EU
- Follow rules of procedure in the Simulation Guide